Skip to main content

Review of Refuge on Crescent Hill

Title:  Refuge on Crescent Hill
Author:  Melanie Dobson

     When I began to read this book, I wasn’t sure I was going to like it.  The first two chapters seemed to me to be slow going.  I kept reading, and soon I was immersed in the story.
     The author has done her historical research about the setting of the story very well.  I enjoyed the dual story lines, running parallel throughout the book and finally converging.  There are multiple themes present in the storyline.  The prodigal child returning home, both physically and spiritually, is present for more than one of the characters.  Characters must deal with their pasts, and how the things done in the past affect the lives of others as well as themselves.  Runaways from the past and present seek shelter from the same source of safety and security.  Grace, compassion, and love are shown to those in need of rescue.  Of course, there is evil present in the story as well.  Justice is served by the bad characters getting what is their due.
     It is so easy to see how God works through these characters for their good, and to bring them into close fellowship with fellow believers.  He also draws them close to Him for an intimate relationship.  Sometimes in our lives it seems not to be so easy to see the good that God does, but if we stand firm in our faith, we will be blessed beyond measure.
     I enjoyed this book, and I will be looking for further books from this author to read.  There is something for just about everyone in this book:  a little romance, mystery, suspense.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…