Skip to main content

Note: A complimentary copy was received from Lightening Book Promotions. Other review can be read at

Title: Rebirth, Based on Actual Events

Author: Dave Longeuay

Publisher: Seven-7 Publishing

Pages: 357

Year: 2011

What a story! From the first few pages, I couldn’t put it down; it is that riveting! Rebirth is based on actual events in relation to Israel and several different nationalities that were involved during a tumultuous historical period. The novel begins in the year 1945 and ends in May 1948. In between intrigue with other threads included, this novel is based on the years leading up to Israel becoming a nation. This was something that was prophesied about in the Old Testament and just beginning to become a reality in 1948.

It is about Israel and how her people have been misunderstood, ridiculed, killed, rejected and the ability to withstand more than most people even are aware of today. While most have heard of the Holocaust, one begins to grasp the wide range of events that make up Israel’s history. The novel is simply an eye opener. Though fictional, the story is based on historical facts. The characters are believable; the scenes very vividly described. Also included are a multitude of plots and themes. Each character has decisions to make; they all face death in innumerable ways. We are introduced to those characters who want to ally themselves as friends of Israel and assist to make her become a nation. Opposition to this becomes a reality. The reader gets a flavor as to the distance her enemies will go to make sure Israel never is a nation. On the author’s website, readers can view pictures, a newspaper and a short History Channel documentary to aid understanding of the historical events.

Included in this novel is the theme of faith and believing God, believing the Scriptures or for some it is the Torah. The main character, David, has a past he would rather anyone not know about as it is so painful for him to relive while telling the story. He meets a girl who has also endured pain in a different situation and nation, but she must come to grips with it and tell her story as well. Will they? Who will they tell? Can they trust anyone? These fictitious people are dealing with learning to continue to love though fear of losing someone again is so real to them. As you read you can imagine real people with real feelings just like those in Rebirth. What is so awesome is that once you finish this book, you get excited for the sequel that is to come out soon. The book is more than just a novel; it is an experience leading to a decision. It is not a matter of who to love and who to hate--not at all. It really is about loving God, His chosen people and His special nation called Israel.

Author website:

1 comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…