Skip to main content

YA Review of Mystery in Dark Island

Title: Mystery in Dark Island

Author: T. A. Smith (

Guest Blog Post By: Tim Johnson (

Year: 2009

Pages: 201

Publisher: Catacomb Publishing, LLC

Rating: 3.5 stars

The story is about this teenage senior named Nic Taylor taking a high school trip to Rio de Janeiro. As he is sailing to Rio de Janeiro, he runs into a storm that shipwrecks him on what appears at first to be merely a dark cave. He discovers two boats, one is an old-style sailing ship called the Lil Lady, and the other is a German Nazi frigate. Later, he finds he’s on an island that has been isolated from the rest of the world, and is run by a psychopath named Stythe. He soon becomes like a hunted animal. He makes friends with some of the islanders and makes some interesting discoveries. All the while, Nic wonders if there really is a God out there who cares about him and will rescue him from the dangers on the island.

This book is the first of a Christian action adventure series that is about the main character, Nic Taylor, and his adventures on Dark Island. This book is very interesting and I recommend it to others. However, I must warn that this book contains what I see as a briefly inappropriate reference; of course, the main character isn’t one of those people who believe in a God. Otherwise, I believe people will want to read this book and to find out what they think of it.

What I liked about the story was that in a Christian way, part of it reminded me of some movies that some explorers go on a trip and find themselves in turnabout and dangerous world all of sudden. Also, there is the journey of a human being’s coming to believe in our Lord though there are many times he is full of doubt. The only thing I didn’t like in the book is the reference mentioned above.

Note: A complimentary copy was graciously provided by the author and reviewed by the blog owner’s son. More reviews located at (

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…