Skip to main content

Gone at Xero Hundred Review and Author Bio

Title:  Gone at Zero Hundred 00:00
Author:  C.R. Hiatt
Pages:  352
Publisher:  AMB Publishing
Year:  2012
Author Bio

CR HIATT is a writer of screenplays and an author of YA action-mystery novels. The daughter of a military veteran, CR grew up in a small town where she became an All-American athlete. CR knew early on that she wasn't cut out for the nine to five type of job - her tendency to day dream about adventures often got in the way. But, being the daughter of a Navy Veteran she also knew one had to do what was necessary to be secure, so she disciplined herself to push those dreams aside and settled on working in the entertainment legal field. When those dreams invaded her world once again, CR finally gave in and set out to write her own adventures. What the heck, right. If you can't live 'em, you might as well write about them. The McSwain & Beck series are works of fiction, only based on real life events. Gone at Zero Hundred 00:00 is the first in the series, and available now. Fireworks on the 4th will be released in late June, just before the 4th of July holiday season.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I am a member of Reading Addiction Blog Tours and a copy of this book was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by Reading Addiction Blog Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review. There was no obligation to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, publisher, publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning Use of Endorcements and Testimonials in Advertising*
Other reviews can be read on the blog located here:

This book is classified as YA-young adult, and that is very evident by the references to YouTube and other modern technology as well as the two main characters being 18 years old.  The story includes lots of action such as scuba diving, zip lining, lock picking, and more.
                The book starts off with good action and typical interaction between the main character, a teenager named Sydney McSwain and her mother.  Sydney and her mother have a discussion they have had many times before in the past as to who Sydney’s father is, but her mother refuses to tell her.  Soon tragedy strikes and Sydney, or Syd as she is referred to by her friends, must grow up quickly.  Her two best friends are Cody and Jaden, although she has been friends with Cody since childhood.  Can they help Syd in dealing with the changes in her life?
                Syd decides to become a full-time detective with Cody, both 18 years old.  On the first case, they are hired to investigate a theft.  Soon after being hired Syd’s truck and home are searched.  What are the criminals looking for?  Syd also begins to actively try to find out who her father is.  She has the help of a detective friend of her mother’s.  Detective Carter has looked out for Syd several times over the course of her young life.  Could he be her father?  Detective Carter also becomes involved in her other case.
Syd is contacted by one of the people from her mother’s investigations, and the action takes off from there.  Why didn’t this person contact the police for help?  What is really going on inside the exclusive club?  Are the police somehow involved with the club too?  Is that why they weren’t contacted?  Who else may be involved?  The mob?  Wealthy citizens?
                While there is action, the ability of these two 18 year olds to accomplish what they do is unrealistic.  I know this is fiction, but I just didn’t find the story very believable.  Also, I didn’t like the foul language used.  There were many grammatical errors as well.
                My rating for this book is 2.5 stars.
1 comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…