Skip to main content

Lucy Come Home by Dave & Neta Jackson

Title:  Lucy Come Home
Author:  Dave & Neta Jackson
Year:  2012
Pages:  424
Publisher:  Castle Rock Creative, Inc.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for this honest review.
Other reviews can be located or requested at
                Wow!  The threads of storytelling are expertly woven in this work of fiction by the Jacksons.  Dave and Neta Jackson keep the readers spellbound throughout the book by using flashbacks with their main character named Lucy.  Lucy was raised in a family who eked out a living working at migrant farms and living in migrant camps.
                Lucy becomes very mature at a young age as she learns to care for her younger siblings, almost becoming like a second mother to them.  As Lucy begins to enter her teenage years and her body changes, the adventure begins to take a dangerous turn.  Bo is a young man who has a similar background though he has mainly worked in carnivals traveling all over.  Starting as a friendship, they begin a journey through their growing up years with them sometimes being together and other times apart.
                Within the pages of this fictional work, we see friendship, faith, God, and other themes running from beginning to end of the Lucy Come Home.  There are times when we see what life was like for Lucy as she was growing up as well as when she falls in love.  The time frame of the story begins with the Dust Bowl, and then on to the Depression as well as World War II and beyond.
                While you read this book, you see the depth of love and friendship people have for each other.  You might be reminded of all that could happen in a lifetime, and be thankful for the times you have with family.  This is also a story of looking for one lost lamb in a sense, one who has a hard time understanding the love of God as well as the love of family. 
                Times were sure hard then, trying to put food on the table was a daily struggle for life for all families.  Yet Lucy’s family was blessed with another whose faith she remembered in her later years.  A story like this tugs at your heart and reminds us what is most important in life, especially when one encounters life-changing events.  Grab the book, a tall cool drink, a quiet place to curl up and get lost in a wonderful tale.
My rating for this book is five stars.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…