Skip to main content

A Heart for Freedom

Title:  A Heart for Freedom
Author:  Chai Ling
Pages:  329
Year:  2011
Publisher:  Tyndale
Note:  I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.  Follow my other reviews at  and on twitter @lcjohnson1988
                This is a story that took a long time to reach the publisher—more than 20 years.  It is the true story of real life events from one of the student leaders of the Tiananmen Square uprising.  She has a longing for a free China and democracy for men and women.  The author tells her story from some of her earliest memories as a child up to her present day life.  This is not fiction, and the events told are sometimes painful to read.
                The narrative begins with our main character and author, Chai Ling, as a little girl in rural China living with her family.  Her parents must travel a lot as they are in the military and trained as doctors.  Grandma is brought to live with them to take care of the three children.  Grandma, however, can’t take care of three small children so they send Chai Ling to live with a foster family on a farm at the age of five.  They pay the farmer a bag of grain to take care of her.  She is so homesick the farmer returns her to her home.  Her father is angry at her for not being able to handle the separation and the fact that she cost him a bag of grain.  She has brought shame to her family.  This sets the tone for the relationship between father and daughter.
                As Chai Ling gets to be around 10-12, she is in charge of taking care of her younger brother and sister along with her grandma.  She enters high school and begins to get recognition for her academic performance.  Now, her father is proud of her temporarily.  He is proud of what she has done, but not of whom she is.  The atmosphere in the house though is repressive and Chai longs to be free.  She studies hard so she can skip the last year of high school and go away to college in Beijing.  At college, she thinks she will be free.  Once at college though she exchanges the low opinion of her father for a string of men with similar viewpoints.  Most think it their right to abuse her physically, mentally, and emotionally.  Chai Ling longs for freedom and love.  Instead, she experiences more personal hardship through forced abortions, being accused as a thief, and finally running for her life as a leader of the students protesting at Tiananmen Square.
                She escapes to the United States through a long series of constant moves and great physical hardship.  She attends Princeton and Harvard.  She is able to bring her sister, brother-in-law, and brother to America from China.  She longs to bring her father, but doesn’t have enough money.  She meets an American man she falls in love with.  He is a Christian, and she at that point is a Buddhist.  She agrees to learn more about God, but makes no further commitment than that.  She begins her own business and becomes successful.
                Throughout her life, she has been searching for freedom and love.  She loves her father, but doesn’t find true love or acceptance from him.  Through her various other relationships, she is searching for that elusive love and freedom.  She has a place in her heart that she can’t seem to fill.  Finally, she is shown the love of Jesus and is willing to open her mind to know more.  She comes to realize that only God can fill that place in her heart.  She accepts Jesus as her Savior and the healing and forgiveness He offers.  She still has a heart for China, especially woman, who have aborted their children, either willingly or unwillingly.  She knows the guilt, heartache and anger that can accompany this.  She realizes only God can save China and firmly believes that he will.  Her years of searching led her to Christ.  Are you searching to fill a void in your heart?  Are you willing to hear about Jesus and open your mind and heart?
My rating for this book is three stars.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…