Skip to main content

The Jesus Scandals

Title:  The Jesus Scandals
Author:  David Instone-Brewer
Pages:  160
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Monarch Books
Note:  A complimentary copy was provided for an honest review.  Follow me on twitter @lcjohnson1988 or on my website:
What made you come and look at this review?  Did you anticipate another book refuting the crucifixion or other such notorious events surrounding Jesus?  Let me assure you that this book is not about that at all.  If anything, this particular nonfiction work is about the curious things Jesus said and did.  We may not understand how some of the topics fit under the auspices of the word scandal until you read what David is placing before you and I as food for thought.
                Within the pages of this short book you will laugh, think, rethink, and maybe learn something new.  The contents are divided into three parts:  Scandals in Jesus’ life, Scandals among Jesus’ friends, and finally Scandals in Jesus’ teaching.  We forget that Jesus’ friends, disciples, family, and others also went through various experiences because of who Jesus was and is.  As you read through the short chapters, perhaps you will allow your views to be expanded as David expounds on the Scriptures.  He brings the culture of then and now into an understanding of what Jesus taught and how we are to be changed by it today.
                When life gets hectic or even in quiet times, we tend to forget that life isn’t always the same for others around us.  When we read the Bible, it may be that we read it with a particular viewpoint that does or maybe it doesn’t coincide with what Jesus actually taught or did.  There are some issues raised that have a different conclusion when history is brought into the picture.  In other chapters, the Body of Christ is exhorted again to pay attention and heed the Master’s commands.
                The author hopes that the book will be used to begin conversations with anyone the Lord brings across our path in life.  David brings clarity to some parts of Scripture that have been unfortunately not understood completely or not at all.  David never writes with a know-it-all style, but a very real down to earth, easy style that helps the reader think about what is being presented.
                This is perhaps one book you might want to leave in various rooms of your home to be read with a little or a lot of time available.  I found myself at times, laughing at something written, other times agreeing, and occasionally not agreeing with the conclusions.  The Jesus Scandals is a great book to encourage conversations with others, but not for the sake of creating arguments.  I appreciate the ideas, thoughts, and scholarly help contained in the small book and I hope you do too.
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…