Skip to main content

The Kingdom by Brian Litfin

Title:  The Kingdom
Author:  Bryan M. Litfin
Year:  2012
Pages:  444
Publisher:  Crossway
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for this honest review.  Other reviews can be located or requested at     
                The year is 2042, and the known world has ended in what has been called The Great War of Destruction.  It started with chemical warfare that decimated populations along with technology.  When the dust settles, one man urges alliances with the main goal of eradicating Christianity.  This is very successful for a time, but after about 300 years has fallen by the wayside.  As this story begins, there are no sophisticated urban cities.  Travel is by ship or boat, horse or by walking.  There are no computers, cell phones or internet.  News is spread by mouth or carrier pigeon.
                The two main characters are Teofil and Anastasia or Teo and Ana as most call them.  They are both new Christians or Chistiani and engaged to be married.  They have been banished from their homeland, Chiveis.  If they return, they will be executed.  The High Priestess of Chiveis is in league with Astrebril, a.k.a. Satan.  She wants to expand her power by taking over other countries so she re-establishes the alliance from 300 years ago.  There are various other bad guys in this story like The Iron Shield with his force of assassins the Exterminati, and the Clan, which is like our modern day mob.
                Teo is asked by the Papa or Pope to go on a mission that will take from the fall through the winter, leaving Ana behind at the convent where she lives with the sisters.  Both face great opposition while apart.  Ana’s best friend, Vanita, is staying with her.  Vanita’s heart belongs to Marco, the pirate captain of a ship that Teo travels on for his mission.  Marco has seen God at work in Teo’s life, but has yet to surrender to His will.  Does Marco ever give his heart to the Lord?  Will Teo ever return from his mission to his beloved Ana or will the forces of evil keep them apart?
                This is the third book in a trilogy.  The first book is titled The Sword and the second book is titled The Gift.  In the first two books, the Old and New Testaments are rediscovered by Teo and Ana.  However, the books are separate.  The Old Testament gets distributed, but most people don’t yet know the Good News of the New Testament.  Still the number of believers grows.  Teo and Ana are not afraid to speak of their belief in Christ wherever they go to spread the message of the New Testament.  Teo and Ana face life and death events to bring Christianity to the public’s knowledge.  How about you?  Are you willing to stand up for Christ?  This third book has the Testaments combined in one book.  More opposition is faced by believers.  There is great action, adventure and some romance too.  This is a really good book that will entertain men and women.  Get your copy today!
My rating for this book is four stars.

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…