Thursday, July 26, 2012

Touching the Sky

Title:  Touching the Sky, Land of the Lone Star Book 2
Author:  Tracie Peterson
Pages:  336
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Bethany House
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988
                Whether the Civil War Era is a favorite time period or not, Tracie Peterson’s ability to write a wonderful story makes this work of fiction a must read!  As the reader progresses through the novel, the author reveals through one of her many characters the origin of the title of this fictional work.  Touching the Sky covers the historical period after the Civil War in the state of Texas.
                The Marquardt family has lived in the state of Texas throughout the War, suffering various shortages of even basic needs.  Though living in the southern part of the nation, they are Unionists at heart.  The Marquardt family includes two daughters, the oldest being Laura who is known to be the level-headed, strong daughter.  She knows her mind, yet submits to her father.  Laura has a strong faith in God as well as a very generous, compassionate heart.  She is very different from her younger sister.
                Carrisa is very immature and spontaneous in ways that eventually land her in a very difficult and dangerous position.  Though the sisters are different, they are very close and loving toward each other.  Later on in the story we see how well their differences help each other to enjoy life and stand faithfully in dangerous times.
                Carrisa is the first to marry, believing she is madly in love with a man named Malcolm Lowe.  Since times in Corpus Christi, where the family resides, have been depressing, the thought of a celebration brings joy to the town and church.  Laura is very concerned about this marriage as she believes her sister is not prepared for the duties of being a wife to anyone let alone a man who is as devious as Malcolm.  There are definite tensions in the small town and many hurt feelings between people with different sympathies.  Another cause of tension is the manning of a fort with a colored troop led by Captain Reid.
                At first glance, Captain Reid is smitten with Laura though their first encounter is anything less than spectacular.  Both Laura and Reid have let first impressions color their view of each other until later on in the story when they are introduced properly.  The captain, as well as his commanding officer, has heard reports of Mr. Lowe’s activities, which raise red flags for them to take serious action.  What should they do?  The commanding officer convinces Reid to undertake a covert operation shortly before he is to retire from the Army.  Brandon, Captain Reid’s first name, is reluctant to continue in keeping Laura in the dark for fear that she may misunderstand his true feelings for her.
The novel is filled with mystery, suspense, love, forgiveness, and action.  As with the first book in the series, this is a wonderful and enjoyable story.  A third book in this series is due to come out in the fall of 2012 titled, Taming the Wind.
My rating is five stars.

No comments: