Skip to main content

Cradle My Heart

Title:  Cradle My Heart
Subtitle:  Finding God’s Love after Abortion
Author:  Kim Ketola
Pages:  216
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Kregel
Note:  I received a complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.  Follow my other reviews at  and on twitter @lcjohnson1988
                Kim Ketola has written a book about a very personal subject with great transparency shared from her own life experience.  There is no condemnation for anyone who has made this choice.  Instead, there is a great deal of hope and healing offered through the love of God.  She provides advice and guidance based on what she has personally experienced as well as experiences of other women.  Most important though is her aim to show God and the Bible as the source of redemption.
                The book is divided into three sections:  “Your Heart”, “God’s Heart”, and “The Whole Heart”.  Within each division, are chapters dedicated to specific topics.  Each chapter begins with a brief section of comments or experiences with a particular topic, and then she tells a story from the Bible related to the topic with a modern slant.  Next, she ties the story in with the topic she wants to discuss and how to get through a specific emotion or view about abortion.  At the end of each chapter is a section titled “Reflect” in which further Bible passages are given to support the chapter’s topic and what she really wants the reader to think about.  Another section is titled “Request”, which is a specific prayer about the topic discussed in the chapter.  The final section is called “Respond”.  Here, practical suggestions are put forth on how cope with what has been discussed or things the reader can do to further work through the process of this very delicate subject.
                At the beginning of the book, there is a brief Foreword written by Ruth Graham.  Kim writes an introduction explaining the questions she had after her abortion and the many other women with similar questions.  The book is an honest attempt to provide biblical guidance for those suffering after this traumatic event.  At the end of the book, there are two appendices.  Appendix A lists various resources that can be utilized for help after an abortion.  Appendix B includes study and discussion questions.
Kim truly has a heart for those women who have experienced this life-changing act.  She tells of how she tried to bury the pain and go on with her life.  She accomplished many worldly successes, but that didn’t fill the void or get rid of the pain.  She shows how God can forgive and restore, but the first step is facing yourself in front of God and telling Him with a repentant heart. 
My rating for this book is 3 stars.

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…