Skip to main content

Desperate for Hope

Title:  Desperate for Hope: Hanging on and Finding God during Life's Hardest Times

Author:  Bruce W. Martin
Pages:  224
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Revell
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988
                One thing I love about books is how they usually are as unique as one snowflake is from another.  In the beginning of the book, the author gives his readers a glimpse of what he has been through as well as some of his friends.  He uses the movie The Perfect Storm as an example of how tragedies can come in our lives.  We don’t usually see them, but we feel them nonetheless. 
                We are reminded that Jesus suffered too; therefore, He knows what we are feeling.  Jesus promises we will never be alone; He will always be with us.  This doesn’t mean we stop having questions.  Questions come about because we don’t see past the pain of the moments ahead.  We wonder where God is.  The book of Job shows us such depth of suffering, the helplessness of some humans.  It also teaches us some truth.  The words hope as well as wait are repeated in Job many times.  Usually we turn to Psalms where those words are often repeated.  All of us want to understand because we think in understanding in the midst of our suffering the pain will be lessened if not alleviated.  Will answers really alleviate our pain?
                As you progress through each chapter, the author provides questions at the end to help guide you in discovering answers.  According to the author, he divides the answers to the “Why?” questions into two categories:  answers that are obvious and some that are not so obvious.  Then, we are taken through the easier of the two categories of the “why?” answers.  Most of these have obvious answers. The author’s questions at the end of the chapters even include questioning God, which some do when tough and painful trials come.  I found it interesting that this portion of the book is entitled Your Story.  Did you ever think that through whatever happened you have a story to tell?
                The book is divided into four main parts:  The Divine Setup, Your Worst Nightmare, The New Normal, and Searching for Meaning.  Using the book of Job as a mainframe, the not so obvious answers to our question of “Why?” to God begin to unveil themselves.  Realize, of course, that this side of heaven we will never get complete answers to our questions and that to me is what makes it hard.  Learning to live after the trial has past is one thing; learning to live without all the puzzle pieces is the other.  The epilogue is entitled:  Famous Last Words.
Nothing in this book provides “pat answers”.  It does, however, give us all something to ponder.  I recommend this book as one to go through in a mentoring relationship and even a small group.  Using it to journal and work through pains and grief is also an excellent use of this book.
My rating of this book is 4 stars.

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…