Skip to main content

Making Sense When Life Doesn't

Title:  Making Sense When Life Doesn’t
Author:  Cecil Murphey
Pages:  208
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Summerside Press
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988
Before you read any further, ask yourself this question: “What do I hope to find or learn if I read this book?”  Perhaps you just thought the title was interesting.  Maybe before buying it you wanted to see what someone else who had read the book thought about it.  Maybe you’re seeking something, though not quite sure what it is you feel is eluding you, but you’re looking or did the thought cross your mind that the book looked interesting so why not read it?
                Regardless of why you may be interested in this book, I can tell you that it is like a small book with a treasure chest of wisdom.  If you open the treasure chest, you can read about the wisdom the author and other have learned.  Will you apply this wisdom to your life?  My life has taught me that knowledge plus experience equals wisdom.  It is easy to spout what I learn; however, it has more of an impact on my life and others if I live out my life with the truth God has shown me.
                We are told in the Bible that “the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom”.  Notice it says beginning not ending.  That is the place to start when life just doesn’t make sense.  Start with where you are with God.  Then, use a book like this one, which includes wisdom learned from a “cloud of witnesses” as people have been described in the book of Hebrews.  Real, living, breathing organisms that have gone through what all humans go through on their journey here on earth.  What do we go through this side of heaven?  My guess is that you can make your own list.
                The author writes what he and others have learned through various seasons of their lives and shares the wisdom gained from having gone through an event, not around it.  The chapters are short, from one page to at most three, and are easily digested within a few minutes.  However, if you think about what you read, it might turn out to be a life-altering moment.  We can all learn from the good as well as bad things done in life.  Either we have done them, been recipients of the acts or words or witnessed the good or bad.  As I read this book, I kept visualizing it placed somewhere in the home where others would be able to thumb though it, read a chapter or two, and learn something that encourages them or challenges them.  This is a book you will want to share with others and perhaps reread a chapter for your own benefit sometime down the road.
My rating is 3 stars.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…