Mariah's Quest

Title:  Mariah’s Quest
Author:  Sally Laity and Dianna Crawford
Pages:  317
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Barbour
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988

                Mariah finds herself on the auction block in America after a six week journey across the ocean from England.  She, along with her two sisters, is being auctioned as indentured servants.  How did things come to this?  Mariah’s older sister, Rose, sold their possessions and her labor to try to pay off their father’s debt.  The other two sisters didn’t want Rose in America alone so they also volunteered their labor.  Mariah, however, has plans well beyond that of an indentured servant.  She is coming to America to find a rich, handsome husband.
                Colin is a young man in town on business for his father.  He rides past the auction block and sees a beautiful, young woman dressed in a fine dress being auctioned as a servant.  He is drawn to her at once and enters the bidding.  He successfully purchases Mariah’s indentured papers for a time of service of four years.  Colin also has plans for Mariah beyond serving as a companion to his mother or perhaps a tutor for his younger sisters.  Will Mariah be amenable to his attentions?
                Colin brings Mariah home to his family’s plantation in Virginia.  His mother is none too pleased to have her there.  Her son will marry someone from his own class with a dowry and should not be deterred from this goal.  She agrees to give Mariah a trial period as tutor for her young girls.  Mariah does well in this endeavor, but expects quite a lot as a supposed servant.  She continues to plot how she can spend more time with Colin to get him to like her while Colin does the same.  Colin appears vain and arrogant.  Mariah appears manipulative, shallow, and selfish.  While Colin is away, she contemplates other men who she might pursue in order to get a marriage proposal.
                Once Colin returns, he no longer wants Mariah around.  He realizes he doesn’t really know her that well and she is only after his money and position, so he thinks.  He also understands how the Lord uses each situation for good.  Mariah finally realizes all her schemes and manipulations won’t get her what she really wants.  She surrenders herself fully to the will of God and gains immediate peace and relief of pain.  She can genuinely enjoy others’ happiness and not be envious.  Can Colin and Mariah resolve their differences?  Even if they do, will his mother ever agree to a marriage between the two of them?
My rating is 3 stars.

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Generous Lies