Rise of Shem

Title:  The Rise of Shem
Author:  R. Fredrick Riddle
Pages: 326
Year: 2012
Publisher: PublishAmerica
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at http://seekingwithallyurheart.blogspot.com/.  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988

                Many have either heard of the Book of Genesis, a revelation of the beginning; without it we wouldn’t know our beginning.  The Rise of Shem is strictly a work of fiction based loosely on a small section of the Book of Genesis the time of Noah, beginning with the flood and ending the story shortly after Noah’s passing.
                One of the benefits of reading fiction based loosely on Scripture is that it helps us remember that the people, places and events revealed therein are real.  It is a story that engages the imagination of the reader and transport them back to the beginning, if only in the mind.  I wonder how much of the description of the places were based on archeological findings.  While we know the Ark hasn’t been uncovered, it still grips the heart of many who long to discover it.
                The imagination of the reader is pulled into the story as we begin mentally traveling with the family of eight on the Ark. We read a fictional tale of the sons of Noah, their wives and peoples that come from them after the Ark.  Altars and worship are spoken of many times in Scripture, and appropriately in the story as well.
                When marriages happen, babies born, elders die, and civilization is being born, it is hard to put the book down.  The event at Babel with Nimrod as its leader, followed by the confusion of languages can almost be sensed as the reader progresses in the tale.  To be reminded that from these eight came civilizations and peoples, the spreading of them after the confusion reminds one and all of how Holy God is. 
                Abram burying his father and beginning his journey of following God is wonderful to think and follow along with in the novel.  To be reminded that people knew each other like Noah and Abram because of the length of time they lives is a solemn reminder that years didn’t separate the people or events in Scripture.  While the story being told is fictional in many ways, I hope it also reminds anyone who reads it to go back to the Book to read what is not fiction at all, but fact.
                Prior to reading The Rise of Shem, I had not heard of the author nor read his other books.  I looked up his other works of fiction and plan on reading them and passing them on to my husband and sons to read.  The novel is a wonderful adventure.  You can learn more about the author on his website at http://www.rfrederickriddle.com/Home_Page.html
                My rating of The Rise of Shem is 4 stars.

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Generous Lies