Skip to main content

Tea Party Culture War

Title:  Tea Party Culture War
Author:  Stephen Johnston
Pages:  232
Year:  2011
Publisher:  WinePress Publishing
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988
”Crossing the Rubicon” is a phrase still used today to indicate that events have reached a certain point where something inevitable will occur.”  (Page ix)  There is a lot packed in this statement made by the author in the introduction of his book Tea Party Culture War.  The subtitle is very interesting, “A Clash of Worldviews”.  What do you think of when you read that subtitle?  In the introduction, Mr. Johnston presents a very brief history of many nations that have stood at a fork in the road in their history.  Decisions made whether by leaders, individuals or countries are known to have changed the course of people for years to come.  Is America at that point again? 
                The premise of the author is that America is at a point of no return; we must act now.  As we look over the horizons of our nation, on many fronts we see change.  We are stirred to a depth deep within us.  How shall we respond to the opportunity to change or influence the direction America has been going?  Will we sit idly by and do nothing but complain or shall we rise like others before us to help our nation return to her Christian-Judeo values? 
                In this work of nonfiction, we gain an understanding of where our nation is as well as why.  We will be introduced to the Tea Party’s movement, including a brief review of its inception.  The author presents his view that the next political campaign may be one of the dirtiest in recent history due to the unfathomable amount of money President Obama plans on spending on personal attacks instead of the issues our nation faces in this crisis.
                Regardless of your political viewpoint or party favorites, I believe this book has information to help all of us make informed decisions instead of relying on the normal political rhetoric we are so accustomed to hearing.  The chapters are divided in to three main parts:  Worldview and Culture, Worldview and Politics, ending with Worldview and Religion.
                Most people don’t want to believe that a worldview has anything to do with the choices they make, but it does.  What we truly believe, we act on for good or bad.  There is a lot we can learn from what has happened in world history, and the author supplies many examples in this book.  Regardless of being a fan of the Tea Party or not, please read for the information presented.  You might find it helpful in making an informed choice at election time.
My rating is 4 stars.

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…