Skip to main content

The Haven

Title:  The Haven
Author:  Suzanne Woods Fisher
Pages:  314
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Revell
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988
                Over the winter, Sadie Lapp has been in Ohio to help her sister and husband settle into their home.  When Sadie returns, unannounced, it is with a baby boy in tow.  In her Amish village, they hear about the baby and assume that is why Sadie has been gone all winter.  The real story of how Sadie came home with this little one has yet to be told outside the Lapp household.
                Amos is the father of Sadie.  He has had a heart transplant and takes many pills daily to keep his body from rejecting the new heart.  The heart belonged to his young son, Menno, who loved to watch and keep a diary of sorts of all the finds on the Lapp ranch.  Since his passing, Fern has lived there to take care of Amos and the household as well as the children.
                Gideon has become the local school teacher under compulsion because no one else can take the regular teacher’s place until she has healed.  Gid, as he is fondly called by some, has wanted to marry Sadie for many years.  When she went to Ohio he thought all was lost.  Now she is home, but with a baby?  Regardless of who the father is, in his mind, he believes he will forgive and marry Sadie to stop the town gossip.  What is it that Gideon doesn’t know? 
                There is a pair of rare falcons that decide to nest on the Lapp farm.  Since they are known by the Audubon Society, the game warden decides to protect the pair of falcons.  How does he do this?  Will Stoltz is the game warden’s assistant who comes to live on the Lapp farm in an old cabin to help protect the birds.  He is there because of the flack his boss got from a prior incident.  Will though is there for far more mysterious reasons than the Lapp family knows.  There is hope for Will while he lives among these simple people and is introduced into the lives of a family he never had growing up.  Will receives calls on his cell phone demanding updates.  Who wants updates and why?
                M.K., Mary Kate, is Sadie’s younger sister who fancies herself a detective of sorts because of what she learns as she reads books.  Mary Kate loves to tell others about anyone as well as any event that happens without thinking of the possible consequences to her sharing of events.
There is more to this work of fiction than I have revealed in this review.  I hope you take time to enjoy this book.  To say the least, there is much activity and mystery that occurs in The Haven.  Suzanne Woods Fisher does a wonderful job weaving a story that will keep readers turning page after page until the last one is turned. 
My rating is 4 stars.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…