Skip to main content

A Duke's Promise

Title:  A Duke’s Promise
Author:  Jamie Carie
Pages:  300
Year:  2012
Publisher:  B&H Publishing Group
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988
                Jamie Carie has written another winner!  A Duke’s Promise is the last novel in the “Forgotten Castles” series.  This book continues the adventures (and romance) of Alexandria Featherstone.  The descriptions of the scenery make you feel like you’re there seeing what the author is describing.  Great character details and emotions are included in the story.  Jamie has truly been blessed by God with a gift for storytelling.
                This story begins with Alexandria marrying the love of her life, Gabriel Ravenwood, the Duke of St.  Easton.  She now finds herself a duchess when only a few months ago she was herding sheep!  As part of their honeymoon trip, they are going to sneak away from the king’s soldiers to try and find Alexandria’s parents.  Her parents have been on the trail of clues trying to discover an elusive manuscript said to give detailed instructions and drawings of a weapon to rule the world.  At least three kings of differing countries searching for the manuscript and will do anything to get it.  The Featherstones are on the verge of discovering the manuscript when they go missing.  Alexandria vows to find them no matter what.  She begins her journey with clues her parents have left behind for her to find.  Where will the clues take her this time?  Who is holding her parents captive?  Can she find her parents before it’s too late?
                Gabriel is thrilled to have Alexandria as his wife.  He’s not so thrilled with all the risks she takes!  His hearing difficulties come and go, but he is learning to trust God to take each moment as it comes and count it as a blessing.  He promises his wife that they will find her parents at all costs.  But what is the true cost?  Will he lose his beloved wife after just finding her?  Does he love her more than God?
Through various fights, travels, arguments, and discussions, both Alexandria and Gabriel learn the precious truth that God loves them beyond measure, that they are never alone as He is always with them, and they need not lean on their own understanding, but on Him.  Be sure to get the other two books in the series, The Guardian Duke and The Forgiven Duke.   I’m already looking forward to Jamie’s next book, and after reading this one, I’m sure you will be too!
My rating is 4 stars.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…