Skip to main content

Taming the Wind

Title:  Taming the Wind
Author:  Tracie Peterson                                                                                                                
Pages:  336
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Bethany
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
                Opening the pages of this novel is like crawling into a comfortable bed.  Storyteller Tracie Peterson brings us to the close of her “LAND OF THE LONE STAR” series.  Taming the Wind is full of characters from her other novels in this series.  However, this particular book is centered on the characters Carissa and Tyler Atherton.  We learn Laura and Carissa’s parents have left Corpus Christi for a month-long holiday touring Europe after the devastating end of Carissa’s former husband, Malcolm Lowe.
                Laura is now the wife of Brandon and living on a ranch in northern Texas.  Carissa and her daughter Gloria have come to spend the summer with them.  Carissa’s parents have placed money in her account to take care of herself and their granddaughter while they are gone.  Laura has one son and is pregnant, expecting a second child.  Brandon finds that they must go on a cattle drive to make money for the ranch, so a couple of neighboring friends and ranchers put some of their herds together for the drive to Kansas where the cattle will be sold for a good profit.  Texas’ economy during the war bottomed out, and beef wouldn’t sell for more than $2 a head.  Now, with the North needing the food badly, the price of beef is sky rocketing. 
                Tyler fought for the South during the Civil War only to honor his dad’s wishes.  As a result, his ranch is to be sold for homesteads to entice couples from the North to come to Texas.  With his heart broken and hatred toward those who took the life of his father and friends brutally, Tyler is now seeking God as to what He desires for him to do.  Tyler falls in love with Carissa as well as her daughter Gloria.  Will Carissa risk her heart again to a man after what she suffered with Malcolm?
                With Indians on the war path, men on the trail, babies being born, and lives in constant danger, what will happen to the dreams of the Texans?  Will the drive be successful and help the families maintain and expand their ranches?  Laura’s former nemesis finds a way to break out of jail and desires revenge against her and her husband.  What happened to his well laid plans?
                 The novel Tracie writes grabs the reader’s attention as well as their heart.  There is adventure, love, and forgiveness, seeking God and trusting God themes woven throughout this story.  One other character of this series is the Scripture that is spread throughout.  Tracie tells a wonderful story, and she points her readers to the Lord and His Word.  I loved this series of novels and believe you will as well.
My rating is 5 stars.
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…