Saturday, September 15, 2012

With Every Letter

Title:  With Every Letter
Author:  Sarah Sundin
Year:  2012
Pages:  425
Publisher:  Revell
                With Every Letter is set in the time frame of World War II, with two main characters.  First, we have a nurse named Lt. Mellie Blake whose physical features tend to set her apart from her peers.  Mellie has a heart to serve.  Her father is in a Japanese prison camp, which brings deep concern for him to her heart daily.  Second, we have Lt. Thomas MacGilliver, who serves as an engineer in the army.  He has a past that brings heartache and daily questions about who he is because of his father’s actions.  Tom wants to be the exact opposite of this man, but like Mellie is very guarded because neither one wants more heartache.
                During this time of war, an Army wife starts up a letter writing campaign to ease the hearts of men as well as women who are lonely.  There are rules like anonymity between parties who decide to be pen pals, no revealing of their real names, places of service, nothing.  In this one act of kindness, both Mellie and Tom decide that being unknown makes this a safe venue for sharing things they wouldn’t share with anyone else.  They both bring to their letters the aspects of their mutual faith in God, praying for each other daily and sharing Scripture.
                Learning new skills is one trial and trying to convince the brass that nurses should be allowed on Evac flights is something different.  It takes weeks of training on how to unload, put together, load, and secure stretchers inside the cargo plane.  Then when the brass come to see a demonstration of the nurses skills, the nurses experience the hard fact that nurses aren’t welcome at the front or on a plane.  Finally, risking her career in the Army Evac Unit as a nurse, one lone speaker stands up to the general to voice her opinion.  Would the general give permission for the program, supplies, and nurses to fly to the front to give aid with the hope of saving more lives?
                Other characters in the story help to complete the picture in the mind of this reader.  Though fictional in nature, the characters show us what true friendship looks like, the nature of love and waiting for it, conflict, forgiveness, and a host of others.  The story also reveals how we all need to depend on the Lord for all things at all times.  Trusting in His plan and perfect timing isn’t easy, but worth it when all is said and done
                This is the first book by this author that I have read, and I plan on reading her other books already published.  All it takes to enjoy the novel is the time to read it and share it with others.
My rating is 5 stars.
.Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

1 comment:

Sarah Sundin said...

Lisa - thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed Tom & Mellie's story.