Skip to main content

A Merry Little Christmas

Title:  A Merry Little Christmas
Author:  Anita Higman                                                                                                                    
Pages:  256
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Summerside
     At first glance, this story seemed like I was walking into a movie that had already begun.  It took a couple of pages before getting hooked.  How many Christmas stories have you read or listened to?  What is your favorite Christmas movie?  I can tell you that I have read many books, but very few Christmas themed novels.  My favorite movie is with Jimmy Stewart, It’s a Wonderful Life.  The angel’s name in that work of fiction on screen is Clarence, which also happened to be my father-in-law’s name.
     Do you find yourself reminiscing a little bit during the holidays?  Do you make time to remember all that the Lord has done for you and how He has blessed you?  I know that some people keep themselves very busy during this time of year because it can be filled with pain so what better way to avoid it?  For others, Christmas is another day off work, shopping very early in the mornings or maybe even decorating.
     The author places her characters in a small town in Oklahoma on a farm that is owned and managed by a 30-something woman who goes by the name of Frannie.  Frannie loves her farm and has been running it since she lost both parents in an accident.  As the holidays draw near Frannie believes that it will be another season she will spend all alone.  The year of the story begins in 1961, when Civil Rights are beginning to take center stage all over America.
     Charlie is the oldest son of a wealthy widower who is expected to take over the business his father began years ago.  When he reads an advertisement for a farm for sale, he believes this time he can do it without being a failure.  No matter what he is doing on the farm, he is there for one purpose and only time will tell if it comes to fruition.
     Through God-ordained events, the past of both Frannie’s family and Charlie’s comes to light, uncovering the storm that changed Frannie since she was a young woman, and the hurt as well as fear God brings out from deep within her heart to bring healing.  Then there is Charlie who had grown up without a mother and a very domineering father, and he goes through a time when he will either lean on the Lord or not.  Willie, who is Charlie’s younger brother, has gone through some transformation as well, being able to see why he struggles with depression.  He finds freedom in the way all of us can.  Though Willie will have to deal with his depression for years to come, with the Lord he has identified the reason he struggles.  Now, he too must decide to go into the future with the strength of God or be forever in bondage.

     Well, that isn’t all that is in the story.  In fact, there is a murder that is solved from the past.  Characters have to choose to love people for who they are the color of their skin or even their status in life.  The author does a wonderful job encouraging readers to take all of who they are to the Lord whether it is their fears, pain, past, hopes, dreams, futures, everything and anything.  We need to surrender completely to the Lord.  There is hope and encouragement when we walk with others as they learn to wrestle not with flesh and blood, but the real enemy the devil.  Looking at others and seeing them as God sees them isn’t always easy, but it is always a choice.  Great novel!
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

1 comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…