Skip to main content

Queen of the Waves Review

Title:  Queen of the Waves
Author:  Janice Thompson                                                                                                            
Pages:  336
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Summerside
     What one word would you use to describe your thoughts or feelings when you hear the word Titanic?  No matter how much I have read, viewed or listened to about the Titanic, I find there is always one common experience for me and that is my heart is torn.  There is the overwhelming number of people who perished that night one hundred years ago, but there are also stories of known heroics and heroes.  Of course, there are some who focus on who is to blame and who is isn’t.  Sometimes the focus is on the bravery and the not so brave.  Whether some story is told of the Titanic, fiction or nonfiction, it still stirs the hearts and minds of people a century later.  Janice Thompson does a masterful job of weaving together a story that has the elements mentioned above, yet also shows the faith her characters exhibit.  Some of the characters don’t believe in God as a Father due to their personal experience, while others find it all so easy to lean upon God as a Father due to the influence of someone’s life.
     The basic story of the Titanic is known, and there, of course, are things unknown about the real night and events leading up to that voyage.  Janice’s main story centers on the characters of Jacquie, Tessa, and Iris.  One of them is a daughter who is abused by her father’s misrepresentation of the Father and forgiveness.  One has lived on a farm; two of the ladies live in mansions.  Then we meet Nathan, Roland, and Peter.  Nathan was raised by a father who is a godly man, but is he really his biological father?  Roland is a successful businessman who longs to marry one of the ladies he is in love with, but she doesn’t return those feelings.  Peter was raised on a farm with his sister, and all he wants for her is a life better than she would ever have if she remains with their abusive, drunken father.
     Through scheming and deception by a couple of these fictional personas, one of the ladies goes on board the Titanic under the name of the other.  With this plan in place, it will make it easier for a forbidden love to really come to fruition until Peter knocks on the door and reveals some disturbing news.  Roland is worried sick that the woman he loves, the woman who is to become his wife may be lost forever in the Atlantic.  How does he react when he sees her living at home weeks after the disaster?  Before the ship goes under, Nathan is told by his mothers travel companion that he has always loved Nathan. While Nathan had suspicions about this man, there wasn’t time to dwell on anything but saving lives.  Now Nathan is healed and at home with the man who has always been his father, fighting an internal battle.  Can he forgive his mother?  How can his father plan a memorial service for his mother when he knew the truth all along?
     I found myself not just reading the novel, but envisioning the various parts of the story in my imagination.  With how the author describes the setting, sights, and sounds aboard the Titanic, it isn’t hard to picture yourself there.  Even knowing how the story over all was going to end, the gripping part was watching how much faith motivated each action and thought in the novel.  I read Queen of the Waves in one day and even if you don’t have that time in a lump sum to sit and take an adventure, don’t pass this one up.  It is truly inspiring, engaging, gripping and so much more.
     My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
1 comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…