Skip to main content

Sugar Fork

Title:  Sugar Fork
Author:  Walt Larimore                                                                                                                   
Pages:  384
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Howard Books
     What an awesome way of telling tales within the folds of the Smokey Mountains scenery!  At first glance perhaps the paperback might cause some to think this to be a simplistic fable.  I must inform anyone thinking this way, however, that wouldn’t be accurate at all.  Walt Larimore writes of faith and the differences in lifestyles between mountain folk and those referred to as flatlanders.
     One of the prominent features is that there is not so big a difference as the antagonists of the book would have the protagonists believe.  For example, in the life of Abbie, though young by flatlander’s standards, she is considered an adult once she has a driver’s license.  Mountain people look at death as part of life.  While there is a time to mourn, they then figure it is time to move on once the period of mourning is over.  One year a doctor from Philadelphia comes to Sugar Fork to do an internship.  After his internship is over, he plans on returning to the big city.  Wade can’t see himself settling down and living happily so far removed from the hustle and bustle as well as conveniences of the city.
     Abbie is the oldest of five girls.  Her three brothers died in infancy.  She has had to assume the motherly duties as her mother passed away, and her father is out providing for them.  Through various trials, Abbie grows and blossoms not only into womanhood but into a faithful believer as well.  There is a fight brewing between a lumber baron and Abbie’s family to preserve the virgin timber on their land.  Mr. Calhoun attempts all types of deception, underhandedness, as well as pay-offs to the right people in order to “legally” evict the family.  Calhoun’s assistant makes several attempts to scare those who are helping the family and is, unfortunately, successful a couple of times.
     There is a lot to this story told from the view of an elderly Abbie, and the use of flashback in telling the story makes it all the more captivating.  Learning to live by faith everyday is shown to be a choice especially tested when life brings sorrow upon sorrow.  The parts of the story cover certain months in a particular year, which leaves purposeful gaps so that the reader isn’t lulled into inattentiveness.   I loved the way the young doctor used the wisdom and treatments of herbal medicines developed and then, if necessary, newly discovered antibiotics.  The cool part was then the doctor asked for prayer and had others praying for Abbie when she was very sick.  Seeing the use of spiritual and medicines together is awesome.  I have been the recipient of such loving treatment from a physician.  Sugar Fork has a theme of reminding us to utilize faith in the Almighty and if need be medications that seek to treat both soul and body in that order.
     Please read this novel and enjoy it.
     My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…