Skip to main content

Trouble with Cowboys

Title:  The Trouble with Cowboys
Author:  Denise Hunter                                                                                                                  
Pages:  304
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Thomas Nelson
     What pictures do the thoughts of the western sky, horseback riding or cowboys bring to your mind?  There are many who have written books about westerns, romances, love, forgiveness, and God.  I am sure you have read some of these that weren’t worth the paper they were printed on; however, let me assure you that this isn’t one of them.
     What makes this story unique is that it centers on the relationships of a few characters with little distraction.  It is written in a style that makes you want to read more as well as know the God who is the center of the characters’ lives.  The characters are that of two brothers from one family and two sisters from another, each with a history that comes out the more you progress through the story.
     Annie is the oldest and lives with her sister Sierra and her nephew Ryder in a small town where she holds two jobs.  Annie works with horses and continues writing her advice on how to care for horses like her grandfather before her had.  Now, with times changing, the paper wants her to write advice about love, something Annie feels she knows little about, but maybe Dylan can help.  Her perspective of him makes him the one who seems to have more knowledge and wisdom to help answer the questions readers send in.  However, is Dylan really like the person she has judged him to be?
     Dylan has a ranch he works hard to keep up and needs Annie’s help when one of his horses, Braveheart, goes blind and he doesn’t have the heart to put him down.  What are Dylan’s choices and exactly what happens when he finds himself stranded in a cabin with Annie when his truck breaks down?
     Sierra is one month away from graduating.  She has told no one who fathered Ryder.  Now, when the end seems so close, she quits school and leaves town without telling Annie where she is going.  Sierra wants Annie to quit mothering her, but Annie feels compelled to keep a deathbed promise.  Sierra has absolutely no idea about this promise.  Then Ryder’s father comes to town.  Hiding out seems her only option even though he has no idea he has a son.  What else is going to happen to show Annie who is really in control?
     The novel is full of themes, but one tends to outshine the others:  God can make all things new.  From past mistakes to recent ones, if we will believe and trust Him, it is amazing the transformation that occurs.  There are also comes a time when deciding to make a right decision, no matter the depth of difficulty, because it pleases God.  This is the last book of three in the series, A Big Sky Romance.  Don’t let the word romance fool you.  The author puts more into the story than you can imagine.  Of course, the greatest romance mankind can have is the one with their redeemer, Jesus Christ.
     My rating is 4 stars.                                                                                   
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…