Skip to main content

Twice Promised Reviewed

Title:  Twice Promised
Author:  Maggie Brendan                                                                                                              
Pages:  332
Year:  2012
Publisher:   Revell
                Twice Promised is the second book in Maggie Brendan’s Blue Willow Bride Series.  The setting is 1888 in Colorado.  The Giffords own a store and are recovering from the recent death of their parents and younger brother.  The brides are looking for a fresh start in their lives.
                Greta Olsen travels from Wyoming to Colorado as a mail-order bride.  She had been living with her sister and had been engaged to Bryan Gifford, but he was killed in an Indiana ambush.  While en route, she meets Cora Johnson, who is also a mail-order bride traveling to Colorado.  Cora was living with her parents, but the tension and hard feelings between Cora and her parents were too much since she had become a Christian.  After their bags are loaded off the train, they meet Zach Gifford, who has come to the station to pick them up.  He has written to both ladies to come and be a bride for his brother, Jess Gifford.  The only problem is Jess has no idea of what his brother has done.  Zach figured he would bring two women as brides so his brother would have a choice.  He would then pay the fare for the one not chosen to return home.
                The two women agree to this plan reluctantly and agree to a trial period where they each can get to know Jess.  Jess is speechless when Zach brings the two ladies to the store he owns and operates and tells him why they are there.  Jess is so busy running the store; he doesn’t have time to court a woman and is really not looking to get married.  Neither lady wants to return home at this time, so Jess agrees that they can work at the store to spend time with him.  Zach is also working at the store until he gets his ranch up and running.
                As the story progresses, the two women become best friends and help to get the store organized.  It is decided that Jess will court Cora on the condition that Zach will court Greta.  Greta has no idea that these are Bryan’s brothers, but recognizes similarities between Bryan and Jess.  Jess is forgetful and disorganized and at first is angry that Greta seems to be taking over his store.  He comes to realize though that she brings spirit and dedication to her work.  She also makes him feel like he has never felt before.  He falls in love with her, but still courts Cora because he doesn’t want to hurt Zach’s feelings as Zach is courting Greta.  Meanwhile, Zach falls in love with Cora, but still courts Greta for the same reason.
                Throughout the story, the characters display traits of loyalty, forgiveness, mercy, giving second chances, charity and service out of love for Christ.  The brothers have been depending on getting things done in their own power, but the ladies, especially Cora, make them realize that they must depend on God to show them the way.  This is a heartwarming story that is a relaxing way to spend a day.
                My rating is 3 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…