Sunday, November 25, 2012

Kristen Heitzmann: The Breath of Dawn

Title:  The Breath of Dawn
Author:  Kristen Heitzmann
Pages:  437
Year:  2012
Publisher:   Bethany House
                Kristen Heitzmann has written another keeper!  This is a stand-alone book, but there are two other books with overlapping characters that also appear in this book.  Those two books are A Rush of Wings and The Still of the Night.  The two main characters in The Breath of Dawn are Morgan Spencer and Quinn Reilly.  The story is set mostly in Colorado, and is of the romantic suspense fiction genre.
                Morgan Spencer is a 30-something, handsome author and business mogul.  However, he has learned through experience that money doesn’t make one happy.  While a teenager, his girlfriend gets pregnant and he is the father.  He is told she has aborted the baby.  He and his girlfriend split up.  Fifteen years later, he learns that his child is alive.  She had been adopted right after birth.  He is contacted because she has leukemia and needs his blood marrow to fight the cancer.  She doesn’t win her fight.  Then, two years ago, his wife, Jill, was killed in a car accident, leaving Morgan with a 3-month-old daughter.  He is well-acquainted with suffering and has blocked himself off from getting involved with another woman.  He only has eyes for his now 2-year-old daughter, Livie.  He meets Quinn and despite his best efforts begins to quickly develop strong feelings for her, but doesn’t plan to fall in love with her.  Can he ever work through his grief?  His family and friends see such sadness in his eyes.  What does God have in mind regarding Quinn?  Will Morgan let himself risk a relationship again or is there too much of a chance for hurt?
                Quinn Reilly is 27 and on the run.  She hasn’t told her family where she lives or what she does for a living.  She is an E-Bay trader, auctioning off items she gets from estate sales or inheritances that other don’t want to deal with.  Her father is a minister, but has always favored her older sister.  A con man comes to town, bilking her father’s church and its’ members of a lot of money.  However, her father and his congregation refuse to believe him guilty when Quinn reports him to authorities.  Instead, they blame Quinn, and think she has taken the money.  The con man, Markham Wilder, vows that Quinn will pay no matter what.  Quinn meets Morgan and the sparks fly.  She instantly falls in love with Livie and meets some interesting characters during her stay in Colorado.  However, Markham is released from jail early and immediately makes contact with her via cell phone to let her know he is after her.  Quinn finds herself falling in love with Morgan despite his grief and sadness.  She finally confides her troubles to Morgan and he proposes a solution.  Has God brought her a man she can love without restrictions?  Can she help Morgan work through his grief?  Should she be bringing Morgan and his family into this mess or should she run again?
                Suspense, romance, family ties, and a dependence on God are seen throughout.  This is a page-turner you won’t be able to put down.  This is one of my favorite authors, and she continues to put forth great stories showcasing God and the people who love Him or come to love Him.  You won’t want to miss this one!
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

No comments: