Skip to main content

Sofia' Secret #3

Title:  Sofia’s Secret (River of Hope Book #3)
Author:  Sharlene MacLaren                                                                                                          
Pages:  432
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Whitaker House
                One of the joys of reading as many books as I do is the discovery that no two books are exactly the same.  The books can contain similar themes, settings, climax and more; yet what makes each book unique is the author’s writing style or point of view.  Whatever makes up the differences in books, I can highly recommend what to me is a new author, Sharlene MacLaren.  In the trilogy entitled River of Hope Series, which is set in Wabash, Indiana, in the 1800’s, a tapestry is woven that captures the heart of the reader.
In this third installment, Sofia is a young woman attempting to care for herself and her brother after their parents are tragically killed in a train accident.  Sofia has born the burden of working the third shift for a cleaning agency, leaving her younger brother at home to sleep.  Tragedy has ripped Sofia’s life apart in so many ways, and she trusts no one until life’s circumstances begin to force the walls around her heart to break.
Andy is Sofia’s younger brother who has a stuttering problem.  At this time, most people believe there isn’t anything they can do to help him.  However, Dr. Trent has a colleague who wrote his thesis on stammering and asks for a copy to be sent to him as he just wants to help Andy conquer his stuttering problem.  Over time, Andy develops a deep affection and friendship with the doctor.  While Andy may seem unable to know what has been occurring, Sofia is about to realize Andy knows more than she thinks he does.
Dr. Trent turns down a high position at a hospital in a city in order to take over his grandfather’s small town practice.  He buys his grandfather’s house and continues to practice medicine, his lifelong dream.  What he didn’t plan on happening is what makes the story take off.  Not only that, but the personalities of both Dr. Trent and Sofia make for anything but an easy way of communicating their hearts, burdens, and thoughts including revealing to the doctor what Sofia hasn’t told anyone else.
One particular aspect of this writer’s work of fiction that I appreciated was the different scripture verses that began each chapter.  Second, what makes for easy reading is the chapters are so long as to make it hard to find a stopping place if need be.  Readers will enjoy the character interactions and the various themes that come together for a wonderful story.  The author writes with a heart of faith to show that anyone in any situation can be redeemed through Christ.  While some of the issues in the book may not be everyday topics, the Lord is an everyday Person we can talk to as well as about.
My rating is 5+ stars.
   Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…