Skip to main content

Deadly Disclosures (A Dinah Harris Mystery #1)

Title:  Deadly Disclosures (A Dinah Harris Mystery #1)
Author:  Julie Cave
Pages:  286
Year:  2010
Publisher:   Master Books
                 This book grabs a hold of the reader and doesn’t let go!  It is set in modern day Washington D.C.  The main character is Dinah Harris, an FBI agent.  There are some great supporting characters in this story, which is the first in a fiction trilogy.
                Thomas Whitfield is in a position of authority and influence as secretary of The Smithsonian Museum.  He has access to Congress.  He is a speaker in demand at conferences and on TV.  He controls what will be displayed at the museum, which tourists visit by the millions every year.  Thomas is a scientist who has believed in evolution his entire life.  In order to get to his current position of power, he made a deal in the past with an organization that promotes strict evolutionary beliefs.  The organization is the money behind some politicians, the laws they sponsor, and other people in position to have evolution theory extolled as the only truth.  What happens when one of the organization’s people begins to express doubt or no longer furthers the evolutionary agenda?
                Dinah Harris is an FBI agent who has been demoted and placed in a position teaching new agents due to a tragic mistake on a case causing a death.  She also is deeply depressed over the death of her husband and young son.  She started drinking right after their funerals, and this alcoholism is what caused her to make a mistake in the case and caused her downward spiral in her career and in her life.  Now, one agent wants to give her a chance to redeem herself.  She was a great agent before tragedy struck, and he wants to see her enjoy what she used to love to do.  The murder of a government official proceeds to be investigated with clues followed and more murder following in her wake.  Dinah continues to drink at night and come into work hung over and sometimes still intoxicated from the night before.  She drinks her meals and uses alcohol to make her feel numb.  She doesn’t want to feel the grief of her lost family anymore.  She is so depressed she gives thought to suicide, and actually begins to drink with a bottle of sleeping pills nearby.  She is interrupted by a Christian woman whose husband has been helping Dinah on the case.  Sandra knows exactly what is going on, but doesn’t go ballistic.  She calmly fixes Dinah dinner, and the moment of suicide passes.  Dinah, however, doesn’t give up alcohol.  She eventually is thrown off the case due to her drinking.  She continues to investigate and unearths the truth.  Will anyone believe her, the drunk?  She comes to a moment when death appears imminent, but not at her own hand.  Does she look forward to death still?  Will she cry out to God?  Can she really believe God and His promises?
                Well, this book is one I couldn’t put down.  There is lots of information on creation, evolution, and the people that hold to each view.  The author researched a great deal to prepare for writing this novel.  The story is very thought-provoking and has made me view some politicians in a new light.  I’ll be reading the other two books in the trilogy and reviewing them as well.  I can hardly wait to start the second book!
                My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…