Skip to main content

Beauty to Die for

Title:  Beauty to Die for
Author:  Kim Alexis & Mindy Starns Clark
Pages:  340
Year:  2012
Publisher:  B&H Publishing Group
                Beauty to Die for is the beginning of the new spa mystery series.  The story uses Kim Alexis’ supermodel background and Mindy Starns Clark mystery writing skills.  The setting is the Palm Grotto Resort and Spa in California.  The novel is classified in the Christian mystery/suspense genre.  There are two main storylines that are neatly wrapped up in the end.
                Juliette Taylor is a former supermodel from the 80s.  She is now 49 years old, single, and part-owner of a skin care line.  As part of her ministry, she offers retreats at various spas for women to rest and relax with a weekend of pampering, God-centered lectures given by Juliette, fellowship, and dining.  Upon arriving in California, Juliette runs into an old colleague.  After a quirky exchange, Juliette is off to the spa with her business partner Didi.  Who arrives at the spa and what do Didi and Juliette witness taking place between this guest and one of the employees?  Never far from her thoughts are thoughts of TOTGA…the one that got away.  She reminisces about Marcus Stone, the man who encouraged her to change her life, stole her heart and then left her high and dry for 25 years.  What is he doing now?  Does he ever think of her?  Why did he never contact her after their brief meeting like he said he would?  Juliette also has launched an internal investigation within her company to find out how counterfeit products are being distributed to clients.  Why is her company targeted?  One of the spa guests is murdered and Juliette’s skin care product may be the culprit.  Juliette wants to clear her name, her partner’s name, as well as her company’s name.  How could this have happened?
                Marcus Stone is a handsome, 50-something, single father.  He has just finished working on a case with the FBI involving a terrorist group using counterfeit products to earn money to support their activities.  They successfully capture the criminals, but find a list of names with no explanations as to why the criminals were targeting these particular people.  Juliette’s name is on the list.  Marcus recalls their brief meeting 25 years ago and how Juliette gave him the strength to leave his job and start his own business.  She also won his heart in that short time.  He eventually tries to contact her, but never makes a connection.  Why?  When he sees her name on the list, his protective instincts kick in.  He wants to see her again to protect her, but also to see if what they had so long ago still exists.  How is he going to handle their first meeting?  Can he keep her safe?  Will God finally bring them together again?
                I’ve read several of Mindy Starns Clark’s other mystery books and found them very good, but this one was just so-so.  It just seemed to drag at the beginning.  Hopefully, the next book in the series will have improved on the pace of the storyline.  This was not my favorite mystery, but I haven’t written off the series.  I’ll await the second book and give it a try.
                My rating is 3 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…