Skip to main content

Hurt (Solitary Series #4)

Title:  Hurt (Solitary Series Book #4)
Author:  Travis Thrasher
Pages:  496
Year:  2013
Publisher:  David C. Cook
                In the fourth and final installment of this series, the author brings an end to the tale that began in the first novel, Solitary.  The novel is classified as “Young Adult”, but adults will enjoy the interesting work of fiction as well.  The previous installments lay not only the foundation for the narrative, but also heighten the mystery contained in the series.  Chris is the main male character who due to family issues is forced to move from Chicago to North Carolina.  The town is named Solitary and is a place where his mother grew up, but when they move there some things are vastly different.
Chris tells the tale through all four books, which gives the readers a first person view that keeps them guessing where the story is going until the final page.  A reader must read the prior novels: Solitary, Gravestone and Temptation in order to understand all that has occurred before.  What makes a good mystery to you?  Do you like suspense?  I can tell you that the author will keep you riveted in your chair as you look at the fictional world through the eyes of Chris.
Chris has been trying to understand what other characters in the story tell him he isn’t really getting.  Through Chris everything looks so “normal” and plain, but his life has been anything but ordinary or without excitement.  He asks many questions that go unanswered by various supporting cast members.  His mother is of no help in trying to make sense of his environment and those who inhabit it. Chris had left Solitary for a short period of time and now he has returned, hoping to find the exit to the maze he feels he has traveled through for years.
There are bullies in the school and town, a missing uncle, people leaving questions hanging and looking everywhere but in his eyes while they are talking.  Chris finds what he thinks is love, but is it really?  Chris is learning what waiting feels like and hates it, and then proceeds to expand that feeling into every area of his life.  Behind all the masterful maneuvering of characters and scenes painted by the author lie deeper questions Chris has yet to ask.  The Solitary Series is not just the everyday or the usual suspense, mystery or thriller novels so don’t expect that.  In fact, you may not see what you think is going to happen in the story until you get there, read it, and discover something completely different.
Travis Thrasher writes beyond the ordinary work of fiction.  There is a depth into the unseen spiritual world.  It is hard to write a review of just the final part of a long story of a young man’s journey that happens when he is in high school.  Why?  I don’t want to give away the ending or take away by mentioning too much from the journey the reader takes through the four works of fiction.  I can say that I haven’t read anything like this; Travis is a unique and creative writer!
My rating is 4 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
1 comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…