Skip to main content

Mystery of the Heart

Title:  Mystery of the Heart (Ravensmoore Chronicles #3)
Author:  Jillian Kent
Pages:  304
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Realms
                It was late Saturday afternoon when the book arrived in the mail.  As I looked at the cover I couldn’t fight the urge to open the book and begin reading.  Mystery of the Heart is the 3rd book of the Ravensmoore Chronicles.  Book two is titled, Chameleon, and book one, Secrets of the Heart.  Novels can be read in sequence or stand alone, depending on the authors.  Some have the same characters who continue in each book while others have changes in the story line that wouldn’t be understood unless the reader begins with the first book.  There will be a guest blogger who will write reviews on all three books of this series as they are read in order.  I, so far, have just read this particular novel.
When I turned the first page, I was hooked into the story so quickly that a couple hours had passed and I found myself turning the last page.  The story is set in England in the spring of 1819.  A girl awakens on a beach alone after being summarily tossed overboard into the sea.  When a young man, Lord Eden, finds her he isn’t even sure she is a girl because she is wearing the clothing of a man.  Though he offers to take her home by way of a ship he himself is traveling on, the steps he has to take to keep her safe from harm on the ship set the stage for one wild adventure after another.  On top of all this, there is mystery afoot when a relic borrowed from another nation is being brought back to England’s regent.  What is the whole reason for pursuit of the relic and the rush to bring it to England?  However, highwaymen steal the relic and bring severe harm to Lord Eden.  Now, what was to be kept quiet becomes revealed little by little when the danger to the lives of Mercy and her family increases.
Mercy is the youngest adult child who traveled to Scotland to learn a profession while staying with an aunt and uncle.  Her family thought she was just going for a vacation.  When her choice of profession and her gender are unmasked, her life is in peril.  Mercy’s family is glad to have her back home with Lord Eden’s help.  She begins to slowly tell of her life over the last year to Victoria, her sister, who is fondly nicknamed Snoop.
Trust me when I say that this is just a foretaste of the mystery and story that will captivate you from the first word till the last!  The pages are filled with mystery, adventure, intrigue and excitement.  I was glad to be able to have time to read it to its conclusion.  I have never read any other novels written by Jillian Kent, but if this is an example of her writing, then she has found a devoted new fan!  In the weeks ahead, you will read guest posts from another reader who will read the Ravensmoore Chronicles in order.  Whether you choose to read one of them or all three up to this date, you cannot go wrong with these stories.  Written with exquisite style as well as intrigue, this story will capture anyone who dares open the book and begin a journey not soon to be forgotten.
My rating is 5+ stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…