Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Phoenix Rising: Firebase Freedom

Title:  Firebase Freedom (Phoenix Rising Book #2)
Author:  William W. Johnstone & J. A. Johnstone
Pages:  340
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Kensington
My review of the first book in this series is posted at http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9859360-phoenix-rising
The third installment to this series will be released later this year, and I cannot wait.  There is an uncanny way the theme in this work of fiction almost mirrors society today.  However, remember when you read this, that this is fiction.  Sometimes authors can get their story ideas from reality, experience or research.  I know many authors who are avid readers themselves on a variety of topics as well as readers of fiction.  Regardless of one’s political allegiance most people have in their heart the desire to see America become a great nation.
In this second installment, the story started in Phoenix Rising begins to expand the scope of events initially brought about when America is deemed a free nation no more.  A president who has radical views begins to slowly strip away all forms of government, suicide bombers take millions of lives and women lose all sense of being a human being.  Jake, being a former soldier, has gathered together in a fort people who are specialists in various fields of expertise.  Since this small group refuses to submit to the new regime and convert to Islam, they cannot buy basic needs.  In fact, their lives are in peril.  Not only this small group, but any who are found to not have a special ID card and following the ways of Ohmshidi’s form of dictatorship.  Is this man acting alone or under the orders of an Imam?
Children are taken away to new schools and separated by gender to be properly taught or indoctrinated according to Islam.  All forms of sports are banned.  Women must wear a certain covering otherwise they are considered guilty.  What are they guilty of and what is the penalty?  Jake’s friend Bob drafts a new Declaration of Independence and is elected the first President.  Many are coming together under the battle cry of “take back America.”
The novel has many characters that show the true heart of Americans who selflessly begin to act in ways contrary to the dictator’s orders.  There is violence, injustice, and swift executions being carried out immediately.  There is no due process of law and no presumption of innocence.  When I read the first novel in this series, it was so filled with suspense I had to remind myself to breathe.  Now, in this novel, there is a growing undercurrent of unrest and nonacceptance of being ruled and subjugated.  Small groups of people are beginning to come together to challenge authority at the cost of their lives.
What will happen now?  Resistance is mounting and the people who believed they have conquered America have won.  I loved the heart of this novel…that America is in the heart of her residents.  People remember what freedom cost so many times before.  In this novel, they are being called to choose to make the sacrifice again.  The tale is filled with suspense and it is a thriller to the max!  If swearing, violence or sexual innuendos offend you, know beforehand that is in these books.  It is told as part of the story, and there are no explicit sexual scenes at all.  If you like stories that touch the heart of the patriot in you don’t miss this series.  The Johnstones have shared a masterful tale that will keep you in suspense until the final book in the series is released.
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at http://seekingwithallyurheart.blogspot.com/ .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/lisa.johnson.75457

1 comment:

Sycho Faerie said...

Great blog! I am a new follower of your. Please check my blog out at http://sychofaeriesbookobsession.blogspot.com
Thanks -SychoFaerie