Skip to main content

Pieces of Light Dinah Harris Mystery #3

Title:  Pieces of Light (Dinah Harris Mystery #3)
Author:  Julie Cave
Pages:  301
Year:  2011
Publisher:   Master Books
                Pieces of Light is the third book in the Dinah Harris Mystery series and what a book!  Julie Cave entertains and educates while engaging the mind to solve a crime.  The setting remains in Washington, D.C., present day.  Some characters from the prior two books return as well as the introduction of a possible love interest for Dinah.  The evil Senator Winters also remains active, trying to advance his cause of eradicating all Christianity from the United States as well as putting himself in the President’s Oval Office.
                Dinah is called in to help with an investigation of church bombings by her old partner, Ferguson.  He is now Special Agent in Charge and has the authority to request whomever he wants to help him solve the case.  He also has an agent with a specialty in bombs working with him, Aaron Sinclair.  The moment Aaron and Dinah meet an attraction is sparked.  Will their attraction get in the way of their work?  As Dinah is a new Christian, she doesn’t realize the ramifications of dating a non-Christian until she meets with her Bible study group and they give her soundly Christian wisdom.  As Dinah and Aaron grow to care more for each other, will she have the strength and courage to tell Aaron of her faith and her past?
                As the investigation continues, more churches are bombed and more innocent people are killed.  Who could be targeting churches?  Why?  Another storyline is developed from the bomber’s point of view along with his family and his past.  Dinah begins to unravel the bomber’s clues, and finally he is caught on video with someone recognizing him and turning him in.  A standoff ensues at the bomber’s house.  A skilled negotiator is needed.  Can Aaron resolve the standoff without force?  Can Dinah discover the bomber’s motivation?  Can a killer be truly saved?
                Once again, Julie Cave has invested herself in telling a story that teaches the reader about the persecution of Christianity in the United States.  We also see the transformation of Dinah from a suicidal alcoholic to someone who knows she is loved by God, has received His grace, and will live in eternity with Him.  She is not going to deny her faith and learns to count on Him for protection.  She shares her past and how God is real and how He gave her the joy of living.  This is a great series and I highly recommend reading all three books.  You will learn more than you thought possible from a mystery/suspense fictional book.  I wish there were more books in this series, but since there aren’t, I’ll be looking forward to reading more books written by Julie Cave.
                My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…