Skip to main content

The Tainted Coin

Title:  The Tainted Coin (Hugh de Singleton #5)
Author:  Melvin R. Starr
Pages:  221
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Monarch Books
                Mel Starr continues his medieval mystery series featuring Hugh de Singleton with this entry of The Tainted Coin.  Hugh still is the bailiff and surgeon for Bampton, serving Lord Gilbert.  However, now he is a father of 1-year-old Bessie.
                One early morning Hugh is called from his bed to attend a severely injured man, who has made it to the porch of St. Andrew’s Chapel.  The curate, the former nefarious John Kellet, runs to Hugh for help.  The man utters a single sentence before dying, but doesn’t say who beat him.  What he does say puts Hugh at the start of the trail of another murder investigation.  With the trusty Arthur, the groomsman, by his side, Hugh discovers the man’s cart and horse not too far away still full of the goods he pedaled.  Why was he beaten if not for his goods?  Who was the man?
                Hugh searches nearby towns and discovers the man’s identity as well as treasure in his unoccupied home.  Hugh takes the treasure back to his home, thinking to deliver it to the castle the next day.  He is away from home on the next day and arrives home to find his wife gagged and bound, his daughter lying next to her unharmed, and the treasure gone.  Hugh vows to find the thieves who dared to frighten his wife and child.  These same thieves Hugh uncovers are also the murderers of Mr. Thrale, the peddler.
                Over the course of his investigation, he encounters other characters that develop into a subplot.  This subplot soon escalates and finds Hugh and Lord Gilbert disagreeing.  Hugh feels so strongly about the issue that he tells Lord Gilbert he will resign his position if Lord Gilbert proceeds according to man’s law.  Isn’t God’s law higher?  Lord Gilbert gives him two weeks to resolve the situation or he will proceed and Hugh can leave.  How is Hugh going to solve this other problem while still trying to find evidence to support his theory about who killed Mr. Thrale?  Is there more treasure to be found?
                I’ve read all the books in this series and this one seems to have a weaker plot than the others.  I still enjoyed reading about how people lived in medieval times, but I didn’t enjoy to book overall as much as the others.  A sixth book in the series is already in the works and the first chapter is included at the end of The Tainted Coin.  I’m not writing the series off as of yet and plan on reading about Hugh’s next adventure.
My rating is 3 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…