Skip to main content

Waiting for Morning

Title:  Waiting for Morning
Author:  Margret Brownley
Pages:  352
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Thomas Nelson
                What do you usually expect when reading a novel?  Being a fan of the western genre, when I read one, I look for action!  It isn’t usually a romantic western that attracts my attention first, but the adventure.  Some write westerns with hints of mystery, revenge, love, forgiveness, and a host of other themes.  Others write with these themes and are able to paint a picture in the mind of the reader, so the reader can “see” the scene where the action is taking place.  The setting is important to me as it gives a flavor of realism to a tale.  The climax can draw a person into the story so much that he/she is spellbound!
The particular book, Waiting for Morning, takes off from the first word and doesn’t stop until the last one.  In the late 1800s, an older lady has placed at ad to let others know she is looking for an heiress, and the woman answering the ad must be single and willing to stay that way forever.  Why would the owner of the Last Chance Ranch want that stipulation for whoever becomes the heiress?  Answering this ad is a young lady who has sole responsibility for her wheelchair-bound brother.  A fire in the town where they lived burned almost all their belongings as well as took the independence of her brother.  Molly is willing to answer the ad in order to provide for her brother and herself.  After all, she is responsible for him being a cripple isn’t she?
When the town’s doctor retires, a young doctor driving a horseless carriage takes over the practice.  Caleb is the only one who owns one of these contraptions, and when he meets Molly she takes a shot at his carriage!  Why?  Molly begins to feel overwhelmed trying to be a caretaker as well as learning about cattle ranching.  Her brother Donnie doesn’t believe he has much of a future because he can’t do anything for himself until Dr. Fairbanks approaches him and begins to work with Donnie in hopes of helping him gain independence.  Will it work?  What does the ranch owner decide to do with a young colt that is blind and is seen as nothing but a hay burner?
I find it hard to express how fun this story was to read, especially at the end when the author shares the story of how one character got his name!  It was fun to see how the characters each learned about who they really were compared to what they thought they were.  For example, Molly thought she was going to be a cattle rancher until she learned that God had other plans, even if she was great working with horses.  When you read this novel, I hope you gain as much pleasure as I did.  I hope I have inspired you to read it as well through this review.
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…