Skip to main content

Waiting for Spring

Title:  Waiting for Spring (Westward Winds #2)
Author:  Amanda Cabot
Pages:  400
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Revell
                A very well-written tale with multiple smaller stories all coming together in an ending that will leave the reader waiting for more.  Set in the 1800s in Wyoming the authenticity of the scenes, cattle problems and more are part of the real history that is the stage for this fictional tale.  The main female characters are Charlotte, Miriam and Gwen.  One of the male characters seeks to reach heights in society’ standing that he never has before, but what caused this sole purpose to control his life?  Charlotte is a widowed lady with a special needs son.  Through him she learns more truth about her own heart.  Miriam is expected to marry a prominent man who has political aspirations, but does she really love him?  Will she forego her dream of true love in order to be seen as an obedient wife?
Gwen is a widow as well who is looking for work to earn a living for herself and her daughter, Rose.  No one in town seems to want to hire her because she has a child.  How will Gwen ever provide for their needs if she doesn’t find a job?  Do all three women have the same social status and attend the same functions together?  One is a dressmaker; another one is the only daughter of a newspaper publisher, but what about the last woman’s profession?
The men in the story are Warren, Richard and Barrett.  They are business associates and their tastes for culture and lifestyle are varied.  Two of them are pressing the third to marry and then seek political office.  If Barrett listens to his two other friends, will he be fulfilling what God has called him to do?  Charlotte seems to now know what God has called her to do.  Barrett has been successful at many things yet feels an ache inside his heart.  When Barrett’s brother comes to visit, he points out that Barrett is talented in speaking, but he is not sure that he should become entwined in politics.
Not only is there mystery in the story, but there are two unsolved murders and some people in town have secrets.  The author keeps the reader spellbound through the use of well-described scenes, and character interactions.  I loved the way that the faith of the characters was challenged to be lived out and real, as well as the dressmaker not wanting to make her gift known beyond those who received the results of her God-given skills and goes to extremes of hiding her identity.  The third book in the series, With Autumn’s Return is being released in 2014.  The first in the series is titled Summer of Promise in case you would like to read the series in order.  I haven’t read the first one yet, but I am now!
My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
1 comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…