Skip to main content

Fated Genes

Title:  Fated Genes
Author:  Harry Lee Kraus, Jr.
Pages:  382
Year:  1996
Publisher:  Crossway Books
                Having read this author’s most recent novel and enjoying it very much, I wanted to read some of his other novels.  As a result of my search, I decided to read one of his earliest novels.  Just because this book is an older book, don’t let that fool you into thinking it is outdated.  It is very much germane to today’s society and some of the issues relevant today.  This is in the medical suspense/thriller genre.
                Brad Forrest is in his last year of pediatric surgery residency and lands the job of a lifetime with a very prestigious pediatric surgery practice.  This practice sees the most difficult surgeries, but has managed to keep their expenses in line even with the inflating cost of all things medical.  How is this possible?  Brad is extremely overworked, but thinks just a little longer and he can have a regular schedule.  Sometimes sacrifices are necessary to obtain goals, right?  At what cost?  Brad is assigned a resident to shadow with him and she discovers some inconsistencies.  Along with another surgeon at the facility, Brad begins to investigate.  He meets with extreme backlash as he is disciplined by his boss for second-guessing his diagnosis.  Brad is allowed to return to work, but is told in no uncertain detail to not rock the boat.  He still feels prompted to look after the best interests of his patients and continues to investigate.  This trail leads to seeming disaster with his personal life and professional life at rock bottom.  Brad has always depended on himself to get what he wants.  His father was a preacher and dedicated to his ministry, not his family.  Brad has always been angry with God for taking up all his father’s time, so Brad isn’t walking with the Lord.  Now, when all looks bleak, Brad realizes what he needs to do.
                Lenore Kingsley is the young attractive president of her father’s company, a pharmaceutical business at the top of the heap.  She has one of her top researchers working on a secret project involving splicing human DNA to introduce desired characteristics.  At first, the research seems to have a breakthrough with the lab animals.  Lenore pushes for a human trial and uses herself as the test subject.  Lenore is also heavily involved behind the scenes in determining the next Surgeon General of the United States.  Where does she get her power?  This position must be filled with someone who has the same outlook as she does…pro-choice, pro-euthanasia, infanticide when the child will off nothing productive to society, but only drain government resources.  She finds her candidate in Brad’s boss, who has been using some of these practices in secret on his own.  Well, he actually has someone else do the dirty work.  He just signs off on the medical reports once everything is taken care of.
                Along the way, the FBI is involved.  Also, Brad’s grandmother and her team of prayer warriors are spending a lot of time in prayer for Brad and his problems, as well as other people involved in the situation.  These older folks are in a nursing home, but are not content to sit and wait around for death.  They might not be able to go out and spread the good news, but they still have a strong and dedicated purpose of prayer.  The story is very entertaining and it is interesting to see how God works in the lives of the characters.  The book is fast-paced and before you know it, you’re at the end!  Don’t miss out on the fun of reading a good book!
                My rating is 4 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…