Skip to main content

New Home for Lilly

Title:  New Home for Lilly
Author:  Suzanne Woods Fisher & Mary Ann Kinsinger
Pages:  272
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Revell
                The novel is book #2 in the series titled The Adventures of Lilly Lapp.  This is a story that follows a young Amish girl through a couple of years of her life in Pennsylvania.  Lilly’s family originally lived in New York, but and had to move.  In moving, Lilly comes to learn that not all communities are the same.  She has to learn about making new friends, getting along with others, and more.
Included in the tale are adventures and tragedies associated with everyday life regardless of place, beliefs and desires.  Born first into her family with her younger siblings being boys, Lilly has some questions that she poses to God.  All the lessons parents long to teach their children like sharing, doing a good job and more are part of this novel, which make it very believable.
The authors are not unacquainted with the Amish way as Mary Ann Kinsinger was herself brought up in the Old Amish order.  As a young girl reads this novel she will feel as if it is her story in some ways if she isn’t Amish.  If she is Amish, then the more she will be caught up in Lilly’s story.  The chapters are short, which make it easier to put down when a youngster’s chores need to be done.  I am not sure if a young boy would enjoy this novel with the central character being a girl, but perhaps some will want to read it.
My rating is 3 ½ stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Romans chapter 5 study tonight @ 7pm EST

Romans chapter 7 @ 7pm EST

Generous Lies

Title:Generous Lies (Hidden Truth #3)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 386
Year: 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
Generous Lies is the third installment in the Hidden Truth series.The first two novels are Convenient Lies and Twisted Lies.Robin Patchen’s stories are very riveting with a mixture of adventure, danger, mystery and a touch of romance. Here, a former FBI agent, Garrison, and his son are in a small town while his son recovers from a mixture of drugs he took at a party.At the same time, a young man’s father has given him a mysterious package to hide until the time for delivery.
When these two events collide, the party and hiding the package, tension ramps up when undesirable repercussions occur.Aiden, who is recovering from his drug affects, now faces the only real choice he has, which is rehab.Garrison, who has been talking with Samantha, who owns the cabins on the lake where they are staying, are falling hard for each other, but their pasts are causing some obst…