Skip to main content

Secrets of the Heart

Title:  Secrets of the Heart (The Chronicles of Ravensmoore #1)
Author:  Jillian Kent
Pages:  273
Year:  2011
Publisher:  Realms
                This book is a wonderful beginning to a new series for Jillian Kent.  The story is set in Yorkshire, England in the year 1817.  Lady Madeline Whittington is a young woman still grieving over the sudden death of her father and siblings.  Her best friend, Lady Hally Gilling, has invited her to a social outing to try to get her back into society.  While out riding during a fox hunt, Maddie is thrown from her horse and sustains an injury.  Her injury is tended by Doctor Devlin Grayson, the new Lord Ravensmoore.  Maddie is averse to his care as he was present when her father died in the hospital of a leg injury.  She thinks Devlin killed her father due to his lack of knowledge or inappropriate care as he was a student doctor in training at the time her father was brought in with his injury.  She wants him to stop “checking” on her so he won’t discover the girl she is protecting who has escaped from the nearby insane asylum.
                Devlin Grayson is Lord Ravensmoore now due to the unexpected death of his older brother.  As a member of the peerage it is just not done to work at a profession.  He is snubbed by the ton for the most part, but has been invited to attend the fox hunt.  It is a good think he is there as he is able to tend Maddie’s injury.  Devlin is instantly smitten with Maddie, but he knows she doesn’t feel the same about him as she is not shy about telling him!  Maddie is hiding something, but what?  Devlin is putting in what seems like endless hours at the hospital as he is due to complete his training soon.  He wants to pursue Maddie, but can she forgive him?  Will he give up his practice of medicine to which he feels God has called him for Maddie?
                Maddie is also struggling with her mother’s newfound love, Lord Vale.  Maddie suffers from bouts of melancholy and now her mother has found a new love so soon after her father’s death.  However, it has been over a year since her father’s death her mother points out and she is lonely.  There is something about Lord Vale that Maddie can’t put her finger on, but she doesn’t like him.  Lord Vale also says he financially supports Ashcroft, the local insane asylum.  However, Maddie soon discovers things are not as they appear at the asylum.  What is going on?  Devlin is called to the asylum to help treat patients for a smallpox outbreak.  He soon discovers chaos inside as well as something else…  Lord Vale has definite plans to get Maddie’s mother out of the way now that he has married her in a quick trip to Gretna Green.  He also plans to take care of Maddie as well.  What is his nefarious plan?
                I can hardly wait for the second novel in this series to arrive in the mail!  This is a quick and entertaining story with well-developed characters that I became quickly interested in.  I’ll let you know soon what I think of the second book.
                My rating is 4 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…