Where Wildflowers Bloom (Sisters at Heart #1)

Title:  Where Wildflowers Bloom (Sisters at Heart #1)
Author:  Ann Shorey
Pages:  328
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Revell
                This is just a lovely story to begin this new series by Ann Shorey.  Set in 1866, in Noble Springs, Missouri, Where Wildflowers Bloom is the love story of Faith Lindberg and Curt Saxon.  There are a few subplots to keep things interesting.  The second book in the series, When the Heart Heals, will be reviewed soon as well.
                Curt Saxon has recently moved from St. Louis, Missouri, to Noble Springs for a fresh start in life after serving in the military during the Civil War.  He has physical scars as well as psychological ones.  He works at the town livery, but before the war he was a math teacher.  Why the change in career?  He lives with his sister, Rosemary, who served as a nurse during the Civil War.  Some of the more shallow people in town snub Curt due to his scar, but not Faith.  She befriends Curt and Rosemary.  In fact, Rosemary becomes her best friend.  Curt helps Faith look after her aging grandfather with whom she lives.  Her grandmother and mother died before the war and her father and only sibling, a brother, died in the war.  Curt also helps protect Faith when the mercantile owned by her grandfather is subject to theft.  He helps her figure out the finances her grandfather has let go for over a year.  Faith is in charge of the mercantile and this upsets some of the townspeople who think a woman shouldn’t engage in commerce.  Curt supports her.  He falls in love with her, but thinks she is interested in someone else so he doesn’t tell her how he feels initially.  Does he wait too long to tell her how he feels?  Since he is fairly new to town, the sheriff thinks Curt is responsible for the troubles at the mercantile.  Can he overcome the sheriff’s suspicions and find proof of his innocence?
                Faith dreams of leaving Noble Springs to travel to Oregon for a fresh start for herself and her grandfather.  Everything reminds them of the family they have lost prematurely to death.  Her grandfather warns her that she can’t run away from her memories, but she doesn’t listen.  She secretly gets supplies together, places an ad in the paper to sell the mercantile, and inquires of the wagon master if they can travel to Oregon with him.  Her grandfather is furious when he finds out she is pursuing this journey without his knowledge.  Faith thinks that since they talked about it, she can convince her grandfather to agree and wants to have everything ready for when he does.  She has had a secret crush on Royal Baxter since he left to fight in the war.  He doesn’t even remember her.  Then, he begins to show a romantic interest in her.  She is flattered someone so handsome and charming is interested in her.  He, too, is going to travel to Oregon.  It must be fate that they go together as husband and wife, right?  Someone spies Royal in one town when he has told Faith he will be somewhere else, and he was with another woman.  At first, Faith believes Royal innocent, but doubt continues to niggle at her.  Could Royal have lied to her?  Why?  As Royal pressures Faith to set a wedding date and sell the store, Faith becomes more miserable.  This should be the happiest time of her life.  She finally realizes she has been living her life and trying to solve her own problems without God.  I’ve done that before and that really didn’t work out!  Once she turns to Him, all becomes clear.  She knows how to proceed.  God has a plan for her life and for ours.
                My rating is 3.5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at http://seekingwithallyurheart.blogspot.com/ .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/lisa.johnson.75457
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Generous Lies