Skip to main content

Love in a Broken Vessel

Title:  Love in a Broken Vessel
Author:  Mesu Andrews
Pages:  448
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Revell
                A couple years back I began to earnestly study the Word at a depth I had never done before.  As a result of studying and learning more about the history of real people, nations, places and such, my heart opened up to a deeper level of knowing God.  While the New Testament teaches as well as unveils, the Old Testament lays a foundation and reveals.  I have been learning recently to remember the Word is not something to be read with a western mindset for much is missed when we forget the origin as well as depth of its birth.  When I read through the Word, I see God as Someone way beyond our understanding let alone our language.  The book of Hosea has such distinct writing that fits into the overall making of the larger story, a real, true and living story.
                Basically, the prophet Hosea was commanded to marry a harlot or prostitute.  Then, God begins to share a tiny piece of His reason why He commanded such.  I call it a “tiny piece” because were He to reveal Himself in totality what flesh could stand?  Not only is that one book of the Old Testament to read, but also 2 Kings and others the author shares to help us see and know the reality behind the fiction.  Francine Rivers wrote a book called Redeeming Love that tells some of Hosea and Gomer’s story, but in a modern setting.  Here, Mesu Andrews tells the story with the setting at the time it occurred in Ancient Israel. 
                Mesu shares how Francine’s story touched her heart and why she wrote this novel.  Mesu did a lot of reading and research in an attempt to portray a historical event accurately.  I must say I think this is another novel to have on the shelf right next to Francine’s novel.  Why?  Regardless of our past or present, marital status, race, denomination or whatever, we all long for love that will not let us go no matter how hard we might try to run from it.  Gomer ran back to her previous lifestyle more than once, and the last time she had to be bought back.  Gomer had to choose to relinquish her attempts to fill the void in her heart her way.  Gomer also had to choose whether to remain faithful to Hosea or not.  Does this not sound like each one of us?  Don’t we all attempt in our own way to fill the desire for love with a thousand different other things?  Then, when we stop our vain attempts, don’t we all hear the shout of insecurity, wondering if anyone would ever love us regardless of our individual pasts?
                For me, reading Love in a Broken Vessel was more than just enjoyment; it was also reminding me of God’s love that fills this broken vessel.  He chooses to fill me with Himself and the Holy Spirit, and it still takes my breath away when I think about that day thirty plus years ago.  He does it anew every day in my life, today and all my tomorrows, if I open my heart to Him.  The novel is more than a fictional story with a Biblical basis; it touches the soul deeply.  I hope you not only get a copy for yourself, but also one for anyone else you know who needs to know for the first time or to be reminded of His unending love for each one of us.  The author has a website with additional material for those who want to know Him more.
My rating is 5+ stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…