Skip to main content

Review: The Moses Quilt & Giftcard giveaway

Title:  The Moses Quilt
Author:  Kathi Macias
Pages:  240
Year:  2013
Publisher:  New Hope
                We can learn a lot from history can’t we?  Sometimes I think we learn more when we are older or we aren’t reading it because we are assigned it in class.  When authors take a person or event from history, actively research their subject, then weave together a masterful story it makes history more alluring.  Don’t you agree?  I never cease to be amazed at the level of skill authors use to share their tales with audiences far and wide.
                Harriet Tubman and the Underground Railroad bring what images into your mind or feelings that spring in your heart?  Being an avid Civil War history buff, I wasn’t sure if I was going to read a work of fiction that shares more new information about the era or if it was going to be rehashed information.  It was revealing to read this book as the author takes a true figure and time from our past and brings the ripple effect from there to a modern time.  Here is a young woman who is in love with a man, but for some reason she isn’t aware of cannot seem to say yes to becoming his wife.  Mazy lives with her mother and great-grandmother after completing college to help care for her great-grandmother before her teaching position starts.  Mimi may hold the key to help Mazy know what it is that keeps her from moving forward in her life.  As Mimi’s health worsens she begins to relate a story from a quilt.  At first it was just Mazy listening to the tale, but now Edward is engrossed so much that he can’t resist coming over to listen as well.  Mimi begins to tell how the quilt is called “The Moses Quilt” and how it reflects stories from Harriet Tubman’s life.  As each new piece of the quilt’s story is told, pictures are shared with that particular piece of the story.  Mazy begins to feel her freedom coming.  What is it that hasn’t been told to her, but has something to do with what the quilt represents?
                Were it not for fiction writers as well as nonfiction writers we might forget lessons painfully learned in the past.  I realized as I read this story that what happened long ago still affects today and will affect our tomorrows.  Reading about Harriet Tubman in this work of fiction caused me to remember what I learned from other sources before and how her life can influence mine.  Harriet was a woman of faith, courage, who was born and died in poverty because she gave whatever was given to her away.  Harriet’s heart and life was spent talking to the Lord, listening to His voice and then obeying whatever He told her to do.  The pain and trials of her life I can’t even fathom, nor can I fathom the courage she had to go where the Lord led her even if it was alone.
                The Moses Quilt is a work of fiction based on the author’s research and understanding of Harriet Tubman.  She did an excellent job.  Why?  When you read this, perhaps you too will walk away reevaluating your daily walk with the Lord or questions might stir within your heart, which to me is positive aspect of good fiction.
                My rating is 4 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…