Skip to main content

Review of "The Survivor"

Title:  The Survivor
Author:  DiAnn Mills
Pages:  384
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Zondervan
                The Survivor is the second novel of The Crime Scene:  Houston Series and it was an awfully tense and inspiring story.  The Chase is the groundwork for the series.  While I hadn’t read the first story, it wasn’t hard to become enraptured with the characters, the multitude of themes as well as the suspense that comes from reading a crime-fighting novel.  After I read the last page, I then read a special note from the author to the readers regarding the contents, but I won’t ruin it for you by revealing what DiAnn Mills wrote.
                Basically, the biggest and most difficult theme the author has Tigo, an FBI agent, wrestle with is how evil things happen if God is real and good.  The support, honesty and prayers from some of his coworkers who believe in God as well as Kariss, his ex-girlfriend, cause him to begin to understand with eyes of faith instead of his cynical questioning mind.  Kariss used to work as a news reporter before becoming a successful writer of fiction.  Now someone has contacted her to write her story in the form of a novel though what the reason for doing so isn’t forthcoming from the doctor who has asked her to take on the project.  On top of this, a prominent family becomes victims of a brutal crime when a car bomb goes off right outside the gate of their estate.  Questions are mounting and answers are evasive as each new lead the FBI receives continually leads to a dead end.
                With suspense mounting as each page turned, I couldn’t wait to see how this one was going to come to completion!  There were a few times I thought I knew who the suspect was, and then the author brilliantly throws a curve into the plot that threw me off.  There is so much more to the story that includes Tigo’s partner having to decide with his wife if they can care for his mother in-law’s last few months of life in their home.  This particular sacrifice and decision was easy for me to connect too as our family had done that in the last couple of years.
                Another aspect I enjoyed in the story is how the Lord is portrayed as the One who seeks us out not the other way around.  DiAnn had her characters ask hard questions about God, prayer and faith while walking through their daily lives; it makes the tale more lifelike to readers.  Whether someone is or has been a fan of DiAnn’s novels prior to this or not, I believe this one will catch the attention of new followers.
                The weaving together of many aspects to solve a particular crime was interesting.  When one sister with her newborn was endangered because of Kariss’ choice to write the novel despite threats, it was quite refreshing to read how the relationship handled the threat.  Relationships of all types are best handled when wisdom is not only prayed for, but sought in and from the Word of God.  There is so much for readers to enjoy and gain entertainment from this published work of fiction.  I have ordered myself a copy of the first book in this series so I can read it and enjoy it while I wait in anticipation for perhaps the author to write another story in this series.
                My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
1 comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…