Scorned Justice Review with Amazon $30 Giftcard

Title:  Scorned Justice:  The Men of the Texas Rangers Book #3
Author:  Margret Daley
Pages:  368
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Abingdon Press
                I just finished the latest novel in an entertaining as well as suspenseful mystery that is action packed!  The first in this series is titled Saving Hope with the sequel being Shattered Silence and before winter of 2013 the fourth in the series will be released titled Severed Trust.  As a reader who likes to see novels that intertwine faith with other themes, this one weaves in faith and trusting God with our most treasured gifts.
                As a judge, Rebecca Morgan, who practiced as a prosecuting attorney beforehand, had seen many hideous crimes of all types committed.  Now, those who were after her looked to be one of two rival gangs, but Texas Ranger Brody wasn’t quite convinced.  The Morgans owned and operated a ranch with several head of cattle and various horses too.  When revenge slowly comes closer and closer to Rebecca’s loved ones, she tries to keep herself together but finds that to be unrealistic.  Having buried one cop before, Rebecca didn’t want to fall in love and marry another because that meant she would have to risk the possibility of losing another husband.
                Thomas Morgan is the other owner of the ranch.  He is married and has two daughters.  He seems ready to expand the ranching business.  Then, on the night of his birthday, tragedy strikes like fierce lightning and continues on throughout the pages until the suspect slips up.  When the perpetrator is caught, the journey of healing can begin for the whole Morgan family.
                I would love to share with you more of the novel and action, but that might ruin it for you, and I don’t want to take away the fun of reading Scorned Justice.  The author did a great job of showing the Morgan family at different stages of their lives and their faith, which can be a reflection of some families in reality.  Also, the twists and turns of the person behind all the heartaches happening in the Morgan family is hard to figure out until the last couple chapters when the author has the person reveal themselves as well as the reason for their actions.
                I don’t know about you, but I like to think I am in control of my life.  Suffering has a way of reminding me that I am not as in control as I tend to think I am.  There are a couple of characters in the novel who remind any of us who struggle with not being in control that only God is in control and we can let go and trust Him.  Life is bigger than we are.  We don’t control others and have trouble at times even keeping ourselves out of trouble.  Grab the book and if you can, the others in the series as well. Then share with someone else who likes riveting storytelling!
                My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at


Popular posts from this blog

Generous Lies