Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Shattered by Dani Pettrey

Title:  Shattered (Alaska Courage Book #2)
Author:  Dani Pettrey
Pages:  368
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Bethany
                Submerged is the first book in this series that introduces us to the various family members of the McKenna family.  However, not all the family members have the same last name, but that doesn’t affect the deep, loving, abiding bond they have and is seen by observers.  The first novel centered on Cole and Bailey, leaving their future to be developed.  Here we see where their relationship has progressed plus the entering of a family member the others hadn’t seen in seven years.  When the girls see him, he has blood on his hands and arms with his shirt soaked in it.
                Reef is in the winter sports circuit.  He recently returned to Alaska because of a competition he entered.  The circuit of competitors is a family unto themselves; rarely will they speak of other members unless circumstances warrant the normally tight-lipped group.  When Karli is discovered in the arms of Reef with no one else around plus two witnesses, it seems the long lost brother’s homecoming is going to be short-lived.  With time being of the essence, since the sheriff is up for reelection and pressing for a quick trial as he believes they have the killer, what are the McKenna family’s options?
                Landon wants to help Piper because he longs to protect her from more hurt.  Piper thought they were heading into more than a friendship until Landon for reasons unknown to her pulls away.  The judge sets the trial within weeks after the holidays and the defense is at an end with where to help locate the evidence that the guilty person was someone other than Reef.  The hunt begins to find any crack, lead or other possible suspect for the slaying of the young athlete.  As the various family members set out to find the key to set Reef free, they also find love.  Yet is it just the love of a future spouse that is found or God’s?  How is the hunt for proof going to also bring freedom from past regrets and pain for the McKenna family?
                If you think Submerged is totally riveting, wait till you crack the cover and begin reading this masterpiece!  I was so glad to see such depth in the story, characters and theme of God’s love; it really was a joyful journey through the pages of the book!  At times the suspense so high it was hard not to skim the lines to get to the part of the story where there is resolution.
                    I was up all night reading this one and I am glad I did it.  I rarely do read all night, but I couldn’t put this one down.  To me, I think what kept me in the book was the great plots, twists and turns.  More so though was the way the author was bringing various previously hidden past information about characters’ lives to the forefront.  Not only that, but to watch how a couple of the main characters were  submitting to the Lord because they knew they weren’t really in control of life and that He is; plus seeing the truth of other characters reveal where their faith is and why they don’t or do believe in Him.
                I suspect future sequels to the Alaskan Courage series will continue to follow the McKenna family along with the various mysteries that come across their lives.  The author shares with her readers the heart of each character a little at a time, which makes for enticing reading.  Read Submerged and  Shattered (review located at http://seekingwithallyurheart.blogspot.com/2013/02/submerged.html) for a wonderful reading experience you won’t soon forget. My review of
                My rating is 5+ stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at http://seekingwithallyurheart.blogspot.com/ .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/lisa.johnson.75457

No comments: