Skip to main content

Chameleon (Ravensmoore Chronicles #2)

Title:  Chameleon (Ravensmoore Chronicles #2)
Author:  Jillian Kent
Pages:  293
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Realms
                This is a great sequel to Secrets of the Heart!  This book is set in London in the year 1818, toward the end of March.  Lord Ravensmoore plays a large role as a supporting character in this story, but the two main characters are Lord Jonathon Witt and Lady Victoria Whittington of Ravensmoore.
                Lord Witt was a spy for England during the war and barely escaped with his life from an attack of large dogs during the war.  One of his countrymen watched the attack and did nothing to help.  Who was it?  Now, back in society, he must still obey the king who wants him to investigate Lord Ravensmoore.  Lord Ravensmoore is a peer, yet he still practices as a physician.  This is unheard of during this time.  A peer did not work!  Lord Witt meets Lady Victoria while she is arriving from the country to visit her brother.  During the last leg of her trip, her carriage runs into someone.  The injured man appears to have been attacked by some wild animal.  Lord Witt happens to be out walking at this time and aids Lady Victoria in getting help for Lord Stone.  They spend a lot of time together discussing the attack on Lord Stone.  Soon Lord Witt has fallen under the spell of the beautiful Lady Victoria.  She has come to London for an adventure, and she certainly is going to get one!
                Lady Victoria Whittington has been ill and bedridden most of her childhood.  She learned to rely on God and her family for help.  Now that she is better and out of her bed, she is able to exercise her active mind and innate curiosity.  She helps her brother while he visits patients at Bedlam, an insane asylum, along with Lord Witt.  She finds Lord Witt handsome and intriguing.  Their investigation into the attack on Lord Stone leads them into different social situations and different adventurous activities.  Lady Victoria has long for romance and she finds it with Lord Witt.  Before they can declare their feelings for one another, Lord Witt arrests Lord Ravensmoore on a charge of being the person who instigated the attack on Lord Stone.  Is this the end of the budding romance for Lady Victoria and Lord Witt?  Who is responsible for these attacks on some of the members of Parliament?  Can Victoria continue to show Jonathon her reliance on God and lead him to know God as well?
                This story moves right along, and the ending will come as a surprise.  There is an excerpt from the third novel in the series included.  I recommend both books in this series.  Sit back, relax, and enjoy a trip to historical, jolly, old England!
                My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…