Skip to main content

Donna Flethcher Crows latest smash hit: Unholy Communion

Title:  An Unholy Communion (The Monastery Murders #3)
Author:  Donna Fletcher Crow
Pages:  381
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Lion Fiction
                Felicity and Antony return in this next book of The Monastery Murders.  The two are now engaged to be married.  Antony has agreed to help Father Stephen take a group of young people on a walking pilgrimage through the countryside of Wales.  Unfortunately, Father Stephen breaks his leg right before the pilgrimage, leaving Father Antony in charge.  He asks Felicity if she wants to go along as his assistant, thinking they could spend some time together in a sort of vacation.  Before leaving, however, Felicity watches as a young priest falls to his death during a ceremony.  In his outstretched hand, he holds a piece of paper depicting an ancient symbol and then the paper burns up.  What does this symbol mean?  Did he jump or was he pushed?
                Felicity agrees to go with Antony, trying to put the recent death behind her.  However, she continues to think about the priest’s death and if it was murder or suicide.  At each stop along the way, the group says a Station of the Cross, learns some history about the area or something about the people who once lived in that particular area.  As their trip continues, different members of the group encounter one mishap after another.  Is the malevolent force following their little group from site to site?  How can they fight what they can’t see?  Can they prevent more harm being done?  What is this mysterious group with the ancient symbol hoping to accomplish?
                I so enjoyed seeing Felicity and Antony’s relationship grow closer.  Donna’s research is outstanding and detailed.  There is a ton of interesting things to learn in this book.  I really like how she has the character of Antony relate history to his listeners “as if they were there.”  I also found it touching the reverence the couple showed toward their God and how they practiced their faith diligently.  They really put their heart into each ceremony, service or station.  One thing that I would have found helpful was a pronunciation key for the Welsh words.  Donna puts so much effort and high quality research into her books, that I always learn something new.  I know Donna is hard at work on Antony and Felicity’s next mystery, A Muffled Tolling.  I’m looking forward to the next book in the series being released!
                My rating is 4 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…


Title:  Fugitive Trackdown (Love Inspired Suspense)
Author:  Sandra Robbins
Pages:  224
Year:  Feb 2015
Publisher:  Love Inspired
My rating is 5 stars.
Claire Walker begins tracking down a fugitive after her father’s passing and learning the amount of debt owed by the business by bail jumpers.  Claire is very much living unprepared in her new though temporary life as her education as a librarian gives her little real life experience.  Claire’s best friend, Jessica, is a former police officer with her family’s fugitive recovery company a wonderful fit, but Claire just can’t ask her friend to help for reasons readers will discover.
The tracking down of a fugitive leads to a lost romance memory when she is aided unwillingly by Adam, Jessica’s brother.  Adam, a former soldier, has the training and knowledge he uses for the family business, but where has Adam’s faith gone since he last spoke to Claire?  When Claire and Adam are facing a life threatening experience their hearts, hurts and spirit…