Skip to main content

Rosa’s Land (Western Justice #1)

Title:  Rosa’s Land (Western Justice #1)
Author:  Gilbert Morris
Pages:  318
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Barbour Publishing, Inc.
                I have read some of this author’s mysteries and have enjoyed them quite a bit, but I had never read any of Gilbert Morris’ westerns.  When this book was published, I decided to read this first book in a new series, “Western Justice”.  Portions of the story take place in Texas, New York and Oklahoma when it was still Indian Territory.  The year is 1886, and the two main characters are Lafayette Riordan and Rosa Ramirez.
                Rosa works long hours at the local cantina to provide food for her family.  Her father got cholera and is too ill to work, so she supports him, her mother, her sister and her brother.  They live in poverty, wear rags and barely have enough to eat.  Rosa is constantly harangued by the male clientele at the cantina and carries a knife for protection.  She thinks to herself, is this all her life will consist of?  Unexpectedly, they hear from her mother’s father who is very ill and wants the family to come live with him and manage his ranch.  The Ramirez family views this as providence as they feel life couldn’t get any worse.  They pack up their meager belongings and head out for the Oklahoma Indian Territory.
                Lafayette Riordan has led a pampered life of wealth.  He has never worked a day in his life and has spent his time painting.  He is a talented artist, but is that all there is to be in his life?  His mother is a Christian and has tried to instill her beliefs in her son, though he later admits to not practicing his faith.  He has two older brothers who have taken after his aggressive father, who owns a factory.  These three men make it clear to Faye, to his family, that they don’t think of him as much of a man.  Faye tends to agree and realizes he is feeling unsettled.  He secretly learns how to box, shoot and ride a very docile horse, and after a month away from home living off the land alone, he tells his family he wants to be a marshal for Judge Parker.  His mother is adamantly against this, but Faye will have his way and soon leaves for Fort Smith in Oklahoma.
                When these two first meet, Rosa views him as definitely less than a man and not what she was looking for to help her bring the “bad guys” to justice.  She treats him very badly and pulls a cruel trick on him.  Riordan, as he goes by now, just goes with the flow.  He doesn’t get angry at her or confront her.  Eventually, he wins her over with his quiet, gentle way.  Both come to a saving grace by accepting Jesus as their Savior, and after a predictable, not very exciting climax, the two marry.
                I found there to be not much excitement and events to be contrived and predictable.  I did not like Rosa as she vehemently opposes anything and everything Riordan does and is very mean to him, then he does one good thing for her and suddenly her feelings for him appear to change, but she still gets in her nasty digs toward him here and there.  I didn’t find it very realistic that she would ever accept him as a man no matter what he did.  As for them both accepting Jesus at the same time in the story…well, to me was convenient and wasn’t realistic.
                My rating is 2.5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…