Where God Finds You

Title:  Where God Finds You (40 Devotionals)
Author:  Anita Higman             http://www.anitahigman.com
Pages:  240
Year:  2012
Publisher:  Standard Publishing
                Do you have favorite authors whose writings you never fail to read?  Are there any writers who are new to you?  Let me introduce to you someone I just met through the pages of one of her books, author Anita Higman.  She has written 30 bestselling books.  In her nonfiction book, Where God Finds You, she breathes new life into some of the people we might be familiar with in the Bible.  In forty separate daily devotions, she shares what we can learn about real people who lived at one time, just as prone to their sinful natures as the rest of us.  So, what can you and I learn?  Read the heart of the author herself as to what we can learn, “To give you the chance to see these men and women in the light of your daily routine.  And to give you the opportunity to hear Jesus speaking…..” (Introduction)
                Isn’t this opportunity the reason why we read the Bible, study the Word, pray, go to church and listen?  When is the last time you heard the voice of God speak to you during your everyday routine?  After all, God doesn’t force us to come, sit or listen, but we are invited to do so every day because of His love and no other reason.  Each day, through first person point of view, a story is shared from a particular Bible character’s life and experiences as if that person were sitting across the table with you and sharing.  Then, the reader is reading the where the original story is told in the Bible.  Anita leads us back to the True Source for what she first shared.  Afterwards, Anita shares her personal life stories and experiences that relate to what the reader gleaned from the story and the Bible.  Just to keep us all listening and walking with God, there are discussion questions that are meant to encourage, challenge and cause us to engage God.
Where God Finds You is a mix of fiction and nonfiction.  Fiction is the part where Anita shares the Bible person’s life story in a very creative way.  The nonfiction part is where readers read the Word for themselves as well as the various daily highs/lows in daily life.  You will want to share with others your life as a listener of Jesus and not just the triumphs, but the hard times too.  With transparency, Anita shares her heart with us.  Above all, she shares Jesus and because of her you may find yourself doing the same with someone else.
                My rating 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at http://seekingwithallyurheart.blogspot.com/.  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/lisa.johnson.75457
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Generous Lies