Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Fear Has a Name

Title:  Fear Has a Name
Author:  Creston Mapes
Pages:  448
Year:  2013
Publisher:  David C. Cook
                Fear Has a Name is my introduction into the writing world of author Creston Mapes.  The storyline presented has many reflections on the choices believers have, especially when confronted with evil.  The antagonist is a man named Granger who was raised in a home without the love of Christ, love of family and emotional abuse at home as well as school.  Therefore, Granger learns how to survive in life without anyone close to him, except for one woman he wants to be his, Pamela Wagner.
                Fighting the war within him, Granger acts more out of fear than anything rational.  He believes the lies that are told to him.  He was bullied to the max by others when he was young.  The only one to show true friendship was Pam; she showed honest friendship though never really knowing what horrors awaited him when he would go home to his parents.  Her impact on him many years ago drives him to make unwise choices, culminating in breaking and entering.  Granger also displays his knowledge of her life over the years, causing Pam to choose to believe or not believe God would protect her.
                Pamela’s husband Jack is a first rate journalist who loves the Lord, Pam and their two daughters.  Pam’s family life is anything but normal though not in same way as Granger’s.  Jack is someone who shows her what real faith looks like.  Now, with his family being threatened and scared all the time, Jack has to decide what the right decisions are in leading his family through the various trials they are facing.
                Evan is a pastor at a Methodist church and married to a wonderful woman, raising three wonderful boys.  Evan battles depression and tries to lead his flock with unwavering devotion, though the associate pastor has other more sinister plans.  Evan decides to leave it all behind, including his family because he believes lies whispered in his ear.  On one particular night, he is visited by an elderly lady who used to steer Evan to the path God has for him.
                Throughout the novel, the characters are wrestling with their fears, faith and lives which aren’t what they thought they would be.  Somehow the different characters and situations keep presenting the choice of believing God is in control or not.  The fears, if allowed to control a person, would seem to cripple their lives; peace in their souls is nonexistent.  I read straight through this novel, seeing what would happen in the story and how the threats to the characters pushing them to the precipice of believing God or not.  Though I was aware I was reading a work of fiction, I couldn’t help but see how all of us have choices to make decisions based on His Word, with the true love of others upholding us in some of our darkest hours.  The suspense, action, times of romance and emotionally packed scenes just wouldn’t let me put it down!  Creston Mapes has a new follower for his novels that are in some ways beyond description.
                My rating is 5 stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at http://seekingwithallyurheart.blogspot.com/ .  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/lisa.johnson.75457

No comments: