Skip to main content

30 Days Hath Revenge

Title:  30 Days Hath Revenge Book #1
Author:  C. Kevin Thompson
Pages:  352
Year:  2013
Publisher:  Oak Tara
                Holding my breath with anticipation as I read the story at some parts and the suspense causing increased excitement at others are a couple of my reactions with each page I turned.  I love political intrigue/mysteries, especially those as well-crafted as 30 Days Hath Revenge, the first book in the Blake Meyer Mysteries.  Before you read anymore of this review, let me tell you that a sequel is to be released in early 2014 titled, Triple Time.  How I wish that book was available now to read in order to see where the continuing action and suspense leads!
                Blake Meyer had been in the military and then joined the FBI before marrying and starting a family.  Looking forward to semi-retirement, he is instantly thrust to the forefront of action when his past enemies seem to be resurrected.  On top of that, the danger isn’t just to America, but globally with death being literally a breath away.  With twists and turns, the plot thickens.  Blake Meyer is about to experience pain he has never had before due to the evil intent of others.
                One man has been reaching out to Blake about God, though Blake at this point claims to be agnostic.  Agents in the FBI as well as the President have been looking for a mole, because trusting just anyone could cost lives in uncalculated numbers.  I could not stop reading this novel until the end.  It was intense and filled with action that was nonstop.  Also, seeing how various characters were being portrayed kept the mystery alive as well as active when other aspects of the plot were uncovered, causing me to wonder if there was more to the players than met the eye.
                When the author contacted me about this series of novels, I was excited to see what lay in store for me as I was being introduced to a plot that was awesome and engaging.  The subject of bioterroism operations from the past with their code names being known to those who should have no knowledge and the global perspective just kept me reading all night long.  How long had the enemies of America planned  to carry forth their plan of mass death ?  Those who, in the past, were hated enemies are now working together toward one and the same goal:  To bring utter chaos to America.
                I don’t want to ruin the many different turns the plot takes or reveal too much because I want you to hang onto your seats and enjoy this breathtaking adventure!  As I was turning to each new chapter, I was reminded time and again of the many people who put their lives on the line every day so others can enjoy the freedom of living here in America.  I was reminded of different spy movies I have seen, not the James Bond ones, but others and the fact that families of those on the front lines are heroes too.  One truth that is clear throughout the book is that without God we cannot have peace internally nor hope with each new day.
                Thanks to the author for offering me the opportunity to read the beginning of what I perceive to be a top notch mystery series no one will want to miss!  I can’t wait for book #2 to come out!  Kudos for a job well done!
                My rating is 5+ stars.
Note:  I received a complimentary copy for an honest review of this book.  The opinions shared in this review are solely my responsibility.  Other reviews can be read at  Also follow me on Twitter @lcjohnson1988, FaceBook at
Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)

Title:The Tide of Times (The Blake Meyer Series #3)
Author: C. Kevin Thompson
Pages: 318
Year: 2017
Publisher: Create Space Publishing
My rating 5 out of 5 stars.
On a quest to locate his wife and children, Blake Meyer is running on fumes and not sure who he can trust.In this installment, the multitude of threats and dangers ramps up with internal trouble at the FBI, Blake’s family situation and his foes are constantly on his tail.Blake is trying to remain one step ahead of his foe, though the way the author has penned his story it keeps readers guessing just exactly who these foes are.
The tale begins in book one, 30 Days Hath Revenge and continues in book two titled, Triple Time.Here is a spell-binding series that keeps an audience wanting more and highly anticipating the next book in what is to eventually be a five-book series.C. Kevin Thompson writes with believable characters, an intricate plot and heart-pounding, intense action and thrills!
Each book begins where the former book leaves …

Lily of the Manor

Title:Lily of the Manor
Author:Anita Stansfield
Publisher: Covenant Communications
My rating is 4 stars out of 5.
Lily Broadbent is a wealthy widow who has adopted 11 orphan children.She would pray before entering an orphanage as to whom she should adopt and leave the rest to God.She needs of a tutor for her brood and Frederick Woodstone needs a tutoring position.He journeys to Broadbent Manor, hoping to get the job and to start immediately so he doesn’t have to pay another night’s rent at the local inn as his funds are rapidly dwindling.He meets Lily and is struck by her very different appearance.She puts him at ease and lets him know she is used to getting looked at.He and she strike up an instant rapport and he is hired on the spot.He begins the next day with Lily observing his methods of teaching as well as discipline for her children.She is most impressed with how Frederick interacts with and encourages her children.
As the story progresses, Lily and Frederick spend …

Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)

Title:Innocent Lies (Hidden Truth #4)
Author: Robin Patchen
Pages: 346
Year: 2018
Publisher: Create Space
My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.
This whole series is so worth reading! They excel at suspense and grabbing the heart of the reader, pulling them into the plethora of happenings in the book. The series has a total of four books that can be read as stand-alone stories though I found reading them in order helped enhance my understanding of the plot and characters.
The titles in order are: Convenient Lies, Twisted Lies followed by Generous Lies, which comes before this final novel I am sharing my thoughts on today.Robin weaves such a well-crafted plot that brings the reader into the story from the first page, and then keep turning the pages with all the twists and turns in the plot.I felt like I was right there observing what was happening around me even though I was reading the book.
Time flew by quickly and I was unaware of what was going on around me because I was lost in the pages!Right th…